‘Abbott Elementary’, ‘Bel-Air’ and More Win Television Honors from the African American Film Critics Association


From “Abbott Elementary” to “Bel-Air,” the African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) is honoring some of the best and brightest in television with its TV Honors this year.

The AAFCA made the announcement on July 18 and presented the winners of its 4th annual television awards. The awards recognize “outstanding achievement in television and streaming, with a particular focus on entertainment representing the black diaspora.”

In a statement obtained by theGrio, AAFCA Co-Founder and President Gil Robertson said, “We are deeply honored and proud to celebrate the excellence of the creative community at this year’s AAFCA TV Honors. The TV and streaming medium is constantly evolving, and we can’t wait to bring everyone together to celebrate the incredible art that has made entertainment so exciting this year.

It’s open house at Abbott Elementary and Janine (Quinta Brunson) prepares to meet the mother of her struggling student. The series airs at 9 p.m. ET on ABC. (ABC/Scott Everett White)

Winning Best TV Comedy is none other than ABC’s mockumentary, “Abbott Elementary.” After multiple Primetime Emmy nominations, “Abbott Elementary” continues to sweep the awards categories after rave reviews and record network ratings. Quinta Brunson, the star and mastermind behind the series, also received the Breakout Star award at the TV Honors.

The award for best television writing went to “A Black Lady Sketch Show,” which Brunson starred in in its first season.

One of Netflix’s biggest series and the one that recently ended, “Ozark” picked up the win for Best Drama Series. “Bel-Air,” Peacock’s dramatic tale of “The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air,” also received an honor for Best New Show.

The stars of

TheGrio sat down with cast members of “Bel-Air” last month at the American Black Film Festival in Miami and got their take on the show’s success and how it resonated so well with audiences.

Adrian Holmes (Uncle Phil) said: “The conversations that were sparked because of our show… that’s what it’s all about. We show that it’s okay to be vulnerable. It’s good to be heard and to be seen. It’s a show about family and a show about love and I think we do a good job of showing the full spectrum of the black community.

Peacock's New Series
(L-R) Cassandra Freeman, Jimmy Akingbola, Jabari Banks, Simone Joy Jones, Jordan L. Jones and Coco Jones attend Peacock’s new series, ‘Bel-Air’ premiere party and drive-in screening experience on February 9, 2022 at Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, California. (Photo by Frazer Harrison/Getty Images)

An invitation-only, in-person luncheon for the 4th Annual AAFCA Television Honors will be held August 20 at the SLS Hotel in Los Angeles.

Below is the full list of winners:

BEST TV COMEDY – Abbott Elementary School (ABC)

BEST TV Drama –Ozark (Netflix)

BEST NEW SHOW – Bel-Air (Peacock)




ESCAPE STAR – Quinta Brunson

BEST OVERALL – Swagger (Apple TV+) & Winning Time: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty (HBO)

BEST WRITING – A Black Lady sketch show (HBO)

BEST TV DIRECTION – Salli Richardson, The Golden Age (HBO)

BEST ACTOR ON TELEVISION (Female) – Patina Miller, Power Book III: Raising Kanan (Starz)

BEST ACTOR ON TELEVISION (Male) – Courtney B. Vance, 61st Street (AMC)


For more information on the AAFCA, visit the official website here.

TheGrio is FREE on your TV via Apple TV, Amazon Fire, Roku and Android TV. Please also download the Grio mobile apps today!


Comments are closed.