African American Film Critics Association calls on Mariah Carey and George C. Wolfe for special honors – The Hollywood Reporter


Mariah Carey, George C. WolfeNetflix and the Oscar-nominated feature documentary All In: The Fight for Democracy will be the recipients of the African American Film Critics Association’s Special Achievement Awards at its 12th annual AAFCA Awards, the organization announced Tuesday.

The ceremony will take place virtually on April 7.

“As well as being the world’s largest group of black film critics, the AAFCA is an advocacy group that champions diversity and inclusion across the industry, with a special focus on those who help elevate black stories, as well as increase black representation at all levels,” the AAFCA said in a statement. “The special achievement awards were created with these goals in mind.”

The association, co-founded by Gil Robertson, who remains its Chairman and CEO, will celebrate Carey, the chart-topping singer-songwriter, with his special Achievement Innovator Award; Wolfe, director of Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, with its salute to excellence; Netflix, the streaming service, with its Cinema Vanguard award “for fostering a global tribe rooted in bringing all people together across different languages ​​and continents through the power of cinema”; and All-ina film about voter suppression and the activist Stacey Abramswith his Stanley Kramer Award for Social Justice, a selection that was made in consultation with Kramer’s widow, Karen.

Past AAFCA Special Achievement winners include Channing Dungey, Carl Reiner, quincy jones, Jason Blum, Edward James Olmos, george lucas, Sidney Poitier, Jon Chu and Cicely Tyson among others.


Comments are closed.