African American Film Critics Association honors Pearlena Igbokwe and Alex Kurtzman


The African American Film Critics Association’s fourth annual television honors ceremony is set to be held in August and the group just announced that Paelena Igbokwe, Alex Kurtzman and Warner Bros. Television Group will receive special honors at the event.

According the hollywood journalist, Igbokwe will receive the Ashley Boone Award from the AAFCA for her work as President of Universal Studio Group. The award is named after the groundbreaking studio executive who served as the first black president of a major Hollywood studio. Igbowke oversees Universal Television, Universal Content Productions, Universal Television Alternative Studio and Universal International Studios.

“Queen Sugar (OWN) received Best Drama and Best Writing at the 2021 AAFCA Television Honors.

Kurtzman, a filmmaker known for his work on the “Star Trek” franchise, will receive the Ally Award. The award “is given to an individual or company in recognition of their commitment to diversity/inclusion in projects”. The inclusion prize will go to Warner Bros. Television Group, in particular for its commitment to inclusion across entertainment projects and corporate sectors.

AAFCA appoints

The association’s co-founder and president, Gil Robertson IV, said in a statement, “The AAFCA is delighted to honor Pearlena, Alex and Warner Bros. Television Group for their achievements. In the ever-changing television landscape, their creativity and progressive leadership is the foundation on which our industry is built and inspires us all.

Winners will receive their awards at a luncheon Aug. 20 at the SLS Hotel in Los Angeles. The association is due to announce the winners of its television categories later this month. They will also receive their honors during lunch.

To learn more about the AAFCA, visit website here.

Fire, Roku and Android TV. Please also download the Grio mobile apps today!


Comments are closed.