After Love tops 2021 British Independent Film Awards winners


Following last year’s virtual event, the British Independent Film Awards returned to Old Billingsgate in London last night to present their 2021 awards, with writer-director Aleem Khan After Love winning a total of six awards, including Best British Independent Film, Best Director (Khan), Best Principal Director (Khan), Best Screenplay (Khan), Best Actress (Joanna Scanlan) and Talid Ariss (Best actor in a supporting role).

SEE ALSO: Read Our After Love Review Here

You can check out the full list of the 2021 British Independent Film Awards winners here …

Best British Independent Film
After Love – (WINNER)
Ali and Ava
Boiling point
The nest
The Remembrance Part II

Best director
Alem Khan, After Love – (WINNER)
Philippe Barantini, Boiling point
Clio Barnard, Ali and Ava
Sean Durkin, The nest
Joanna Hogg, The Remembrance Part II

Best actress
Joanna Scanlan, After Love (WINNER)
Caitriona Balfe, Belfast
Carrie Coon, The nest
Claire Rushbrook, Ali and Ava
Ruth Wilson, Real things

Best actor
Adel Akhtar, Ali and Ava – (WINNER)
Ahmed Rice, Meet
Stéphane Graham, Boiling point
Jude Law, The nest
James Norton, Nowhere special

Best Supporting Actress
Vinette Robinson, Boiling point – WINNER
Judi Dench, Belfast
Jo Hartley, Dear
Nathalie Richard, After Love
Tilda Swinton, The Remembrance Part II

Best Supporting Actor
Talid Ariss, After Love (WINNER)
Richard Ayoade, The Remembrance Part II
Lucian-Rivière Chauhan, Meet
Ciarán Hinds, Belfast
Ray Panthaki, Boiling point

Revolutionary performance
Nell Barlow, Dear (WINNER)
Lauryn Ajufo, Boiling point
Max Harwood, Everybody’s Talking About Jamie
Jude Hill, Belfast
Ellora Torchia, In the ground

The Douglas Hickox Prize (Best First Director)
Alem Khan, After Love (WINNER)
Prano Bailey Bond, Censor
Celeste Bell, Poly styrene: I’m a cliché [Also Directed By Paul Sng]
Cathy Brady, Fires
Marley Morrison, Dear

Best scenario
Alem Khan, After Love (WINNER)
Clio Barnard, Ali and Ava
Terence Davies, Blessing
Sean Durkin, The nest
Joanna Hogg, The Remembrance Part II

Revolutionary producer
Michelle Antoniades, Dear (WINNER)
Helen Jones, Censor
Jessica Malik, She goes [Also Produced By Bob Last]
Hester Ruoff, Boiling point [Also Produced By Bart Ruspoli]
Rob Watson, The power [Also Produced By Matthew James Wilkinson]

Best First Writer
Cathy Brady, Fires (WINNER)
Prano Bailey Bond, Censor [Also Written By Anthony Fletcher]
Alem Khan, After Love
Marley Morrison, Dear
Reggie Yates, pirates

The Raindance Discovery Prize
Poly styrene: I’m a cliché, Paul Sng, Celeste Bell, Zoë Howe, Rebecca Mark-Lawson, Matthew Silverman, Daria Nitsche (WINNER)
Bank, Job Daniel Edelstyn, Hilary Powell, Christopher Hird
The bike thief, Matt Chambers, Pk Fellowes, Sophia Gibber, Lene Bausager
I am Belmaya, Sue Carpenter, Christopher Hird
The rebel dikes, Harri Shanahan, Siân A. Williams, Siobhan Fahey

Best British Short Film
Woman (WINNER)
Night of living terror
Play it safe
Precious hair and beauty

Best International Independent Film
To flee (WINNER)
Compartment n ° 6
First cow

Little mom

Best casting
Carolyn Mcleod, Boiling point (WINNER)
Shaheen Baig, After Love
Shaheen Baig, Ali and Ava
Shaheen Baig, pirates
Lucy Bevan, Emily Brockmann, Belfast

Best photography
Matthew Lewis, Boiling point (WINNER)
Mátyas Erdély, The nest
Magdalena Kowalczyk, Cow
Annika Summerson, Censor
Haris Zambarloukos, Belfast

Best costume design
Grace Snell, The Remembrance Part II (WINNER)
Michael O’Connor, Louis Wain’s electric life
Guy Speranza, Everybody’s Talking About Jamie
Annie Symons, Blessing
Charlotte Walter, Belfast

Best music
Connie Farr, Harry Escott, Ali and Ava (WINNER)
Iain Cooke, pirates
Jed Kurzel, Meet
Clint Mansell, In the ground
Van Morrison, Belfast

Best effects
Steven Bray, Mike Knights, Dash Cam (WINNER)
Gary Brown, István Molnár, Dan Martin, Censor
Rupert Davies, Louis Wain’s electric life

Best Editing
Hélène Le Fèvre, The Remembrance Part II (WINNER)
Rebecca Lloyd, Jacob Schulsinger, Nicolas Chaudeurge, Cow
Úna Ní Dhonghaíle, Belfast
Mark the cities, Censor
Ben Wheatley, In the ground

Best makeup and hairstyle
Vickie Lang, Kristyan Mallett, Donald Mcinnes, Louis Wain’s electric life (WINNER)
Siobhan Harper-Ryan, The Remembrance Part II
Ruth Pease, Censor
Nadia Stacey, Everybody’s Talking About Jamie
Wakana Yoshihara, Belfast

Best production design
Stéphane Collonge, The Remembrance Part II (WINNER)
Jim Clay, Belfast
Suzie Davies, Louis Wain’s electric life
Aimée Meek, Boiling point
Paulina Rzeszowska, Censor

Best sound
James Drake, Rob Entwistle, Kiff McManus Boiling point (WINNER)
Nicolas Becker, Cyril Holtz, Linda Forsen, Cow
Tim Harrison, Jamie Roden, Adele Fletcher, Censor
Martin Pavey, In the ground
Andrew Stirk, Paul Davies, Morgan Muse, Bernard O’Reilly, Julian Howarth, Meet



Comments are closed.