List of 2021 winners – Deadline


Drive my car the Japanese drama co-written and directed by Ryusuke Hamaguchi based on a short story by Haruki Murakami and the country’s candidacy for the international Oscar feature film race, was named best film of the year by the New York Film Critics Circle.

Benedict Cumberbatch in “The Power of the Dog” and Lady Gaga in “House of Gucci”
Netflix; RAU

The group also voted Lady Gaga as Best Actress for her portrayal of Patrizia Reggiani in MGM / United Artists Releasing’s Gucci House, while Benedict Cumberbatch won the award for best actor for The power of the dog.

Hamaguchi’s photo was presented for the first time this year at the Cannes Film Festival, where it won the Award for Screenplay. This becomes another title to watch in an awards season that has seen other top honors go to people like The lost girl (Best Feature Film at the Gotham Awards) and Licorice Pizza (National Board of Review Best Film).

These two films were also winners today in the New York critics’ vote, with the film by Paul Thomas Anderson Licorice Pizza by MGM / UA winning Best Screenplay and Maggie Gyllenhaal winning Best New Director for Netflix lost girluh (she won the Breakthrough Director and Screenplay awards at the Gothams earlier this week).

Jane Campion was named Best Director by NYFCC Today for Netflix The power of the dog, who also scored with Cumberbatch and Kodi Smit-McPhee, who won the Best Supporting Actor vote. Kathryn Hunter was named Best Supporting Actress for her performance Macbeth’s tragedy.

West Side Story won the group’s award for best photography, while two other international Oscar nominations also won today: Jonas Poher Rasmussen To flee from Denmark won the award for best non-fictional film and Joachim Trier’s film The worst person in the world from Norway was named Best Foreign Language Film.

The NYFCC awarded special prizes to Maya Cade for the creation of Black Film Archive; Marshall Fine “for his years of service as CEO of NYFCC and decades in the New York film scene”; and Diane Weyermann, a posthumous award for “supporting the making of bold and impactful films at Sundance and Participant”.

The NYFCC, founded in 1935, includes reviews of daily and weekly newspapers, magazines, and online publications and tends to favor more independent rates. Last year he chose Kelly Reichardt and A24’s First cow as the best film, the marquee among 12 categories up for grabs. Chloe Zhao, who ultimately won two Oscars for Searchlight’s Nomadic country (Best Film and Director), won the group’s directing award a year ago.

Past NYFCC Best Picture winners include Irish (2019), Rome (2018), Lady Bird (2017), La La Land (2016), Carole (2015) and Childhood (2014).

This year’s winners will be honored at the NYFCC Awards Gala Dinner scheduled for January 10 at Tao Downtown.

Here is the full list of 2021 winners:

Best film : Drive my car

Best photography: West Side Story

Best screenplay: Licorice Pizza

Best first film: The lost girl

Best Director: Jane Campion for The power of the dog

Best Animated Feature: The Mitchells vs. the Machines

Best actor: Benedict Cumberbatch for The power of the dog

Best Actress: Lady Gaga for Gucci House

Best Non-Fiction Film: To flee

Best Supporting Actress: Catherine Hunter for Macbeth’s tragedy

Best Foreign Language Film The worst person in the world

Best Supporting Actor: Kodi Smit-McPhee for The power of the dog

Special prices: Maya Cade, Black Film Archive; Marshall Fine, NYFCC; Diane Weyermann, posthumous


Comments are closed.