Suhasini to head state film awards jury


Actor-director Suhasini will lead the jury to decide the Kerala State Film Awards for 2020.

The government issued an order appointing the jury. These will be the first prizes after changing the rules to introduce a two-tier judging mechanism following an increase in entries for the prizes.

P. Seshadri, an eight-time national award winner and director from Kannada, and director Bhadran will be the chairpersons of the two committees of the preliminary selection committee. They will also be the members of the final committee.

Suresh Pai who twice won the National Best Editor Award; Madhu Vasudevan, state film award winner and lyricist; critic and award winner Kendra Sahitya Akademi EP Rajagopalan; State Film Award winner and cinematographer Shehnad Jalal; writer Rekha Raj; screenwriter and lyricist Shibu Chakravarthy are the other members of the preliminary committee.

Besides Ms. Suhasini, Mr. Seshadri and Mr. Bhadran, cinematographer CK Muralidharan, music director and State Film Award winner Mohan Sithara, three-time national winner and sound designer Harikumar Madhavan Nair, critic and screenwriter N. Sasidharan are part of the main jury.

The secretary of the Chalachitra Academy, C. Ajoy, will be the member secretary of the two committees. The preliminary jury will be composed of eight members and the final jury of seven.

Critic and winner of the State Film Prize PK Rajasekharan will chair the jury which will award the prize for the best book and article on cinema. Film critics Muralidharan Tharayil, Bindu Menon and C. Ajoy are the other members.

Eighty films were submitted for the awards. Of these, four are for children. The projection is started.


Comments are closed.