The Harder They Fall named Best Picture by the African American Film Critics Association


The Association of African American Film Critics announced the winners of its 13th annual AAFCA awards.

The more they fall won Best Picture, Best Director (Samuel Jaymes), best ensemble and best music (Samuel, Kid Cudi and Jay Z), while King Richard also won four awards, including Best Actor (Will Smith), Best Supporting Actress (Aunjanue Ellis), as well as Breakout Actor (Saniya Sidney) and Emerging Director (Reinaldo Marcus Green).

Jennifer Hudson (Respect) and Corey Hawkin (Macbeth’s Tragedy) also won top acting honors in their respective categories. Somewhere else, quest lovethe documentary soul summer also won some love from the AAFCA, who voted Adam McKaythe script of Don’t look up as a best-case scenario.

“It’s been a fantastic year for cinema,” said AAFCA President and Co-Founder Gil Robertson. “After reaching the two-year milestone of a global pandemic, great entertainment means more to all of us than ever. This year’s AAFCA winners not only entertained us, but also educated and inspired us and look forward to celebrating them at the AAFCA Awards.

The winners are voted by the more than 90 AAFCA members and will be celebrated on March 2 at the 13th Annual AAFCA Awards Ceremony at the SLS Hotel in Los Angeles, where there will be an audience to limited capacity and other health and safety protocols in place.

The full list of AAFCA winners is below:

The more they fall

Picture via Netflix

Best picture: The more they fall

Best Director: Jeymes Samuel, The more they fall

Best Screenplay: Adam McKay, Don’t look up

Best actor: Will Smith, King Richard

Best Actress: Jennifer Hudson, Respect

Best Supporting Actor: Corey Hawkins, Macbeth’s Tragedy

Best Supporting Actress: Aunjanue Ellis, King Richard

Breakout actor: Saniya Sidney, King Richard

Best Overall: The more they fall

Emerging Director: Reinaldo Marcus Green, King Richard

Best Music: The more they fall (Jeymes Samuel, Kid Cudi, Jay-Z)

Best Documentary: soul summer

Best Indie Feature: Who we are

Will Smith King Richard

Image via Warner Bros.

The AAFCA will announce several special achievement awards in the coming weeks, including the Cinema Vanguard Award, the ICON Award, the AAFCA Stanley & Karen Kramer Award for Social Justice, the Building Change Award Presented by Lowes, and the Innovator presented by Nissan. Sponsors of this year’s AAFCA Awards are Nissan, Lowes, Morgan Stanley, Facebook and Diageo.

Founded in 2003, the AAFCA is the world’s premier black film critics body, actively reviewing film and television, with a particular focus on entertainment that includes the black experience and storytellers from the African diaspora. The organization’s primary mission is to cultivate understanding, appreciation and advancement of the contributions of talent of African descent to film and television culture – from the artistic and technical legends of the past to the yet unimaginable breakthroughs of future generations. AAFCA members are a geographically diverse cross-section of journalists, spanning all genres of film arts, while representing multiple media – including print, television, radio and online. Together they reach a global audience of over 100 million people. As a not-for-profit organization, AAFCA engages in many educational and philanthropic endeavors, especially those that promote and celebrate diversity and inclusion. For more information about AAFCA and its programs, visit


Comments are closed.