The New York Film Critics Circle is hosting a series of screenings at the Paris Theater in New York


The Parisian theater and the New York Film Critics Circle have unveiled a new series of bi-monthly screenings to be held at the iconic Paris Theater in Manhattan. Some films will be chosen and presented by NYFCC members, followed by discussions after the screenings. The Théâtre de Paris, one of the oldest art house cinemas in the United States, was preserved by Netflix in 2019; the 571-seat theater is New York’s newest single-screen theater.

“I am thrilled with this partnership,” current NYFCC Chairman Jordan Hoffman said in an official statement. “Coming to the Paris Theater, Manhattan’s newest single-screen cinema, is always a thrill. Its location on the southeast corner of Central Park, next to the Plaza Hotel, already looks like something out of a movie. I can’t wait to see what titles Circle members choose and I can’t wait to strike up a conversation after the screening. I hope New Yorkers and visitors to our city will take the opportunity to mingle with us.

More from IndieWire

The inaugural series beginning Monday, September 12 will feature films set in New York. The opening screening will be 1957 Noir’s “Sweet Smell of Success,” starring Burt Lancaster and Tony Curtis. NYFCC member Stephen Whitty will introduce the film and lead a post-screening panel discussion.

Other upcoming screenings include “Weiner” on Monday, September 26, presented by Vulture critic Alison Willmore, and “The In-Laws” on Monday, October 17, presented by Hoffman.

The New York Film Critics Circle at the Paris program will announce upcoming screenings via the Newsletter of the Paris Theater. In 2019, Netflix announcement his acquisition of the Théâtre de Paris to “use the theater for special events, screenings and theatrical releases of his films”.

Founded in 1935, the New York Film Critics Circle is the nation’s oldest critics group, with its membership including critics from daily and weekly newspapers, magazines and digital publications. IndieWire’s Kate Erbland, David Ehrlich and Eric Kohn are all members (Kohn has also previously served as chairman).

The annual NYFCC awards ceremony honored Lady Gaga (“House of Gucci”), Maggie Gyllenhaal (“The Lost Daughter”), Paul Thomas Anderson (“Licorice Pizza”) and Jane Campion (“Power of the Dog”) this year gala. Special awards were given to Maya Cade for creating the Black Film Archive; a posthumous award for Diane Weyermann for her support of making bold and impactful films at Sundance and Participant; and Marshall Fine for his years of service as NYFCC general manager and his decades on the New York movie scene.

Best of IndieWire

Register for Indiewire Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitterand instagram.

Click here to read the full article.


Comments are closed.