The Next Generation Indie Film Awards celebrate the winners of 2022


2nd annual ceremony, hosted by Worthy of Calumawarded prizes including more than $150,000 Grand Prize for Services/Credits, the biggest prize in the history of the Indie Film Awards

HOLLYWOOD, CA., July 19, 2022 /PRNewswire/ — The Next Generation Indie Film Awards presented the highest honors at the second annual Next Generation Indie Film Awards gala. The 2022 awards ceremony was a sold-out event held at the Loews Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles. The evening of celebration and laughter was hosted by returning host and co-founder, actor and comedian Worthy of Calum.

The event was highlighted by a special new award, the first-ever Luminary Award, which was given to the Oscar-nominated American filmmaker Rian Johnson (Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Knives out). The award, the independent film organization’s highest honour, was graciously accepted by Mr Johnson who delivered his acceptance speech via pre-recorded video, giving words of encouragement to the filmmakers in attendance. The event was also streamed live on Instagram.

This year’s top prize, Best Film Overall, went to Don’t go quietlya powerful and inspiring documentary directed by Nicholas Bruckman and produced by Amanda Roddy. The documentary feature film, on Ady Barkan national campaign for health care reform, had its world premiere on South by Southwest and is currently streaming on Hulu.

In addition to a trophy, the winner of the Best Overall Film award received a prize of over $150,000 including professional studio rental space at Los Angelesproduction supplies and equipment, camera sets, post-production services (including writing, sound mixing, color grading, digital final mastering), a private film screening and an AFM (American Film Market) Executive Plus badge for the AFM 2022.

Don’t go quietly also won Best Documentary Feature. The finalists for best overall film are definition please, The telephone of the windand These moments.

definition pleaserealized by Sujata Day and produced by Cameron FifeDatari Turner, Ritesh Rajan and Sujata Day won the Best Narrative Feature category. The film is currently streaming on Netflix.

The telephone of the windrealized by Kristen Gerweck and produced by Linda Christina Riedmann won the Best Narrative Short category while These momentsrealized by Dylan Singing, Nic Kuklinskiand Scott Larsonand produced by Dylan Singingwon the Best Short Documentary category.

In the acting categories, the award for Best Actor in a Feature Film went to Cole Hauser for his role in The Last Champion. Based on a true story, the inspirational drama was directed by Glenn Withrow and is currently available on Apple TV, Amazon Prime, YouTube and Google Play Movies. The film received several other accolades at the awards show, including Best Directing in a Feature Film for Mr. Withrow.

The award for Best Supporting Actress in a Feature Film went to Frances Fisher (Titanic, unforgivable) for his role in This is not a war story. Directed by Talia Lugacy, the drama is currently available on HBO Max.

Quinton Aaronwho played in The blind side with Sandra Bullockjoined the host Worthy of Calum on stage during the show to present the award for Best Supporting Actor in a Short Film to Fabien Jaray for A soldier’s story.

Best Ensemble Cast in a Short Film went to the casting of First… Directed by Adam Hartwinski and produced by Maciej Ślesicki, Adam Hartwiński

and Michal Konopkawhich, First… received several awards, including Best Short Film by a Student Filmmaker, Best Foreign Language Short Film and Supporting Actress in a Short Film for Anna Grycewicz.

Alex Ramos won Best Actor in a Feature Film for his role in 12 wordsa film nominated for several awards.

Another multiple winner was bittudirected by Karishma Dube and produced by Mary Evangelist and Shreya Dubewhich won several categories, including Best Short Drama.

The filmmaker also made several trips to the awards scene Paul Myziawhose prices for The masterpiece included Best Editing in a Short Film.

A full list of all 2022 Next Generation Film Awards nominees, winners and categories is available: ON THIS SITE.

“Being able to honor the talented next generation of independent filmmakers makes this baby boomer very happy,” said awards co-founder Therese ‘Tag’ Goulet.

The executive producer of the awards show is Andrew Jenkins. The show’s producers include Aina Dumlao and Undercurrent Studios. Attendees of the 2022 awards gala included nominees from around the world, program judges, honorees, industry partners and sponsors from major film companies who continue to generously support the work of Next Generation Indie Film Nonprofit Awards. Foundation all year round.

Thanks to the generosity of sponsors, the 2022 grand prize winner won a prize package worth more than $150,000 in film production and rental credits to help the winner film their next project in Los Angeles. Prize packages include rentals from Quixote and MBS Equipment Co., props from ISS Props, software from Final Draft, camera package from Keslow Camera, post-production services from Sugar Studios LA, special invitation at the 2022 American Film Market in-person event in santa monica, and more. The full list of prize sponsors is available on the website at Sponsors tab.


Formed in 2020, the inaugural Next Generation Indie Film Awards gala was held at Hollywood in 2021. Catherine Gouletserial entrepreneur and successful visionary, founded and established the world’s largest awards program for independent authors and publishers, the Next Generation Indie Book Awards, launched in 2008.

The film awards evolved from the book awards program in 2020, when Catherine conceptualized the non-profit Next Generation Indie Film Awards Foundation, and Catherine teamed up with Andrew Jenkins and her sister Therese ‘Tag’ Goulet to create the film’s award program.

Tag Goulet is a film producer and patron who has financed more than 100 independent films by young filmmakers, including two from Santa Monica College film program which was screened at walking sticks Film festival.

Andrew Jenkins is an award-winning actor and producer, as well as an accomplished entrepreneur and business leader. Worthy of Caluma lifelong friend of Andrew’s since the two starred in a TV series together as teenagers, joined the trio as founding members of the nonprofit in 2022.

Together, this multi-generational team of founders has a vested interest in the future of independent filmmaking and has created a global awards program that celebrates exceptional work and helps independent filmmakers break through. The annual galas are a place where filmmakers can forge critical connections with the industry and come together to celebrate with other nominees.

The Next Generation Indie Film Awards Foundation is a non-profit organization that supports filmmakers around the world through its annual awards and other programs throughout the year. They strive to support filmmakers at all stages of the filmmaking process by helping them reach an audience and aim to advance filmmakers’ careers through services, education and access to resources. The organization has financially supported over 50 independent film projects since its inception.


Entries are now being accepted for the 2023 Next Generation Indie Film Awards. Award categories include both feature and short films, as well as awards for Best Music Video, Web Series, Debut Filmmaker, LGBTQ+ Filmmaker Short, BIPOC Filmmaker, animation, student films and the best documentaries.

More information about the prizes, including how to enter, is available here:

Andrew Jenkins
[email protected]

SOURCE Next Generation Indie Film Awards


Comments are closed.