Winners announced for the 4th African American Film Critics Association. (AAFCA) Television Honors


Abbott Elementary/Getty

*The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) announced the winners of its 4th annual Television Honors, recognizing outstanding achievement in television and streaming with a particular focus on entertainment representing the black diaspora.

Winners include “Abbott Elementary” for Best TV Comedy and the show’s creator/writer/producer, Quinta Brunson for Breakout Star, Netflix’s “Ozark” for Best TV Series, Peacock’s “Bel-Air” for Best New Show, “Black and Missing” (HBO) for Best Documentary, ABC’s “Women of the Movement” for Best Limited Series/Special, Apple’s “Pachinko” for Best International Production, there is a tie for Best Ensemble between Apple’s “Swagger” and HBO’s “Winning Time: the rise of the Lakers dynasty” , HBO’s “A Black Lady Sketch Show” for Best Writing, Salli Richardson (“The Gilded Age”) for Best Television Direction, and Miller Patina (“Power Book III: Raising Kanan) for Best TV Acting, Female and Courtney B. Vance (“61st Street”) for Best Male Actor on Television. HBO’s “Insecure” is also honored with the prestigious Impact Award.

As previously announced, the AAFCA will award special honors to several industry leaders, including the President of Universal Studio Group Pearlena Igbokwe who will receive the Ashley Boone Award, Alex Kurtzman who will receive the AAFCA Ally Award, and the AAFCA Inclusion Award will go to Warner Bros television group.. President of the WBTVG Channing Dungey will accept the prize on behalf of the studio.

“We are deeply honored and proud to celebrate the excellence of the creative community at this year’s AAFCA Television Honors,” said the AAFCA Co-Founder and President. Gil Robertson. “The television and streaming medium is constantly evolving and we can’t wait to bring everyone together to celebrate the incredible art that has made entertainment so exciting this year.”

MORE NEWS ON EURWEB: Usher’s 2022 New Look ‘Disruptivator’ Summit To Be Held July 20-22; kids sign up now! | VIDEO


The 4th annual AAFCA TV Honors will take place during an invitation-only in-person luncheon on August 20 at the SLS Hotel in Los Angeles.

A full list of winners follows:


  • BEST TELEVISION COMEDY – Abbott Elementary (ABC)
  • BEST TV Drama – Ozark (Netflix)
  • BEST NEW SHOW – Bel-Air (Peacock)
  • BEST DOCUMENTARY – Black and Missing (HBO)
  • BEST LIMITED/SPECIAL SERIES – Women of the Movement (ABC)
  • BREAKOUT STAR – Quinta Brunson
  • BEST SET – Swagger (Apple TV+) & Winning Time: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty (HBO)
  • BEST WRITING – A Black Lady Sketch Show (HBO)
  • BEST TV DIRECTION – Salli Richardson, The Gilded Age (HBO)
  • BEST TV ACTOR (Female) – Patina Miller, Power Book III: Raising Kanan (Starz)
  • BEST TV ACTOR (Male) – Courtney B. Vance, 61st Street (AMC)
  • IMPACT AWARD – Insecure (HBO)

Founded in 2003, the AAFCA is the world’s premier black film critics organization, actively reviewing film and television, with a particular focus on entertainment highlighting the black experience in the United States and the rest of the African Diaspora. For more information about AAFCA and its programs, visit

Morgan Stanley (NYSE: MS) is a leading global financial services company providing a broad range of investment banking, securities, wealth management and investment management services. With offices in 41 countries, the company’s employees serve customers around the world, including businesses, governments, institutions and individuals. For more information on Morgan Stanley, please visit
source: AAFCA


Comments are closed.