51st Kerala State Film Awards: here is the full list of winners


“The Great Indian Kitchen” Wins Best Picture, While Jayasurya and Anna Ben Wins Leading Actor Honors

Jeo Baby’s ‘The Great Indian Kitchen’, which received widespread acclaim for its portrayal of a woman’s daring response to an oppressive patriarchal family, was voted Best Picture at the 51st Kerala State Film Awards, declared Saturday afternoon.

Read also | Receive ‘First Day First Show’, our weekly cinema newsletter, delivered to your inbox. You can register for free here

Director Jeo Baby also won the award for Best Original Screenplay. The choice of the film was a unanimous decision of the jury, according to actor-director Suhasini, president of the jury.

Actor Jayasurya won his second state award for best actor (male) for his performance in “Vellam,” which kept an archetypal drunken tale afloat, while Anna Ben won the award for best actor. (woman) for her performance in “Kappela” as a naive young woman. who has to negotiate a lot of pitfalls when she goes out into the big world. Sidhartha Siva won the award for best director for “Ennivar”.

Read also | The audacity of regional films

These are the first prizes after changing the rules to introduce a two-tier mechanism for the jury following an increase in nominations for the prizes. The main jury had to view around thirty films selected from a total of 80 nominations by a preliminary jury. Actor-director Suhasini heads the jury, while P. Seshadri, eight-time national award winner and director of Kannada, and director Bhadran chaired both committees of the preliminary selection committee.

Declaring the award, Cultural Affairs Minister Saji Cherian said the award sends a message that women who come forward in all fields, including filmmaking, are the need of the times. Ms Suhasini said Kerala should be appreciated for organizing the organization of the award during the period of the COVID-19 pandemic which inspired artists.

“The quality of all the films has been good. It is only when there is a calamity that people think differently. It will bring out different emotions in people. Production would have been difficult during that time, but we had 80 films to consider, ”Ms. Suhasini said. She said the competition for the Best Actor (Female) award was tough with seven final round contenders.

Here is the full list of winners

Best film – Great Indian cuisine (Director: Jeo Baby)

Best Actor (Male) – Jayasurya (Vellam)

Best Actor (Female) – Anna Ben (Kappela)

Best director – Siddharth Siva (Ennivar)

Second best film –Thinkalazhcha Nishchayam (Director: Senna Hegde)

Best Film with Popular Appeal and Aesthetic Value – Ayyappanum Koshiyum (Dir-Sachidanandan KR)

Best Character Actor (Male) – Sudheesh (Ennivar, Bhoomiyile Manohara Swakaryam)

Best Character Actor (Female) – Sreerekha (Veyil)

Best first director – Muhkammed Mustafa (Kappela)

Best story – Senna Hegde (Thinkalazhcha Nishchayam)

Best composer – Mr. Jayachandran (Sufiyum Sujathayum)

Best background music – M Jayachandran (Film – Sufiyum Sujathayum)

Best Playback Singer (Male) – Shahabaz Aman (“Sundaranayavane” from Halal Love Story and “Akashmayavale” from “Vellam”)

Best Reading Singer (Female) – Nithya Mammen (“Vathukkal Vellaripravu” from Sufiyum Sujathayum)

Best lyrics – Anwar Ali (“Smaranakal Kadayi” by Bhoomiyile Manohara Swakaryam and “Theerame” by Malik)

Best editor – Mahesh Narayanan (CU soon)

Best Screenplay (Original) – Geo Baby (Great Indian cuisine)

Best scenario (adapted) – No deserving entry

Best photography – Chandru Selvaraj (Kayattam)

Best Children’s Film – Bonami (Dir-Tony Sukumar)

Best Child Actor (Male) – Niranjan S (Kasiminte Kadal)

Best Child Actor (Woman) – Aravya Sharma (Pyali)

Best artistic direction – Santosh Raman) pyali, Malik)

Better sync sound – Adarsh ​​Joseph Cherian (Santoshathinte Onnam Rahasyam)

Best sound mix – Ajith Abraham George (Sufiyum Sujathayum)

Better sound design – Tony Babu (Great Indian cuisine)

Best Voiceover Artist (Male) – Shoby Thilakan (Bhoomiyile Manohara swakaryam for Thambidurai)

Best Voiceover Artist (Female) – Riya Saira (Ayyappanum Koshiyum for Kannamma)

Best choreography – Lalitha Soby, Babu Xavier (Sufiyum Sujathayum)

Best Colourist – Liju Prabhakar (Kayattam)

Best makeup – Rachid Ahmed (article 21)

Best disguise – Dhanya Balakrishnan (Malik)

Best VFX – Saryas Muhammed (Love)

Jury Mention (actor) – Siji Pradeep (Bharathappuzha)

Special price for trans people or women for any category – Nanchiyamma (for the interpretation of the song ‘Kalakkatha’ by Ayyappanumn Koshiyum)

Mention of the Jury (Costume) – Nalini Jameela (Bharathappuzha)

Best Book on Cinema – Akhyanathinte Piriyan Kovanikal by PK Surendran

Best Cinema Article – Adoorinte Anch Naayaka kathapathrangal by John Samuel


Comments are closed.