African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) Reveals 14th Awards Schedule


The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) announced today that the winners of the 14th Annual AAFCA Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Film will be announced on January 16, 2023. An in-person celebration will follow on March 1, 2023. The critics organization will release its annual Top 10 list on December 8, 2022. The winners and Top 10 list are elected by the more than 90 AAFCA members. The AAFCA Awards and all other proceedings will be chaired by AAFCA President and Co-Founder, Gil Robertson.

The AAFCA Awards recognize outstanding achievement in film in the following competitive categories:

Best film

Best Director

Best actor

Best Actress

Best Supporting Actor

Best Supporting Actress

Outstanding performance

Best Independent Film

best foreign film

Best Documentary

Best Writing

Best Together

Other honorary awards to be announced later this year include the Stanley & Karen Kramer Award for Social Justice, the Emerging Director Award presented by Facebook, the Building Change Award presented by Lowes and the Innovator Award presented by Nissan. Submissions are open now. For more information on how to submit an application for the AAFCA Awards, please visit The deadline to screen films and/or provide screens to AAFCA members for award review is December 2, 2022.

14th Annual AAFCA Awards Voting Timeline

December 2, 2022: Preselection / Preselection deadline

December. 8 2022: 10 best films announced

January 16, 2023: Announcement of winners

March 1, 2023: 14th Annual AAFCA Awards Gala


Comments are closed.