African American Film Critics Association Celebrates ‘King Richard’, ‘The Harder They Fall’ at 2022 Awards


Awards season returned to live mode this week, starting with the star-filled live SAG Awards on Sunday night. This weekend brings multiple tributes and panels promoting Oscar nominees at the Santa Barbara International Film Festival – which opened March 2 – including Sunday tributes to Will Smith and Aunjanue Ellis for “King Richard(Warner Bros./HBO Max).

But before those tributes, Smith and “King Richard” had a lot to celebrate on March 2 at the 13th annual African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA), where Smith won the Male Lead in a Motion Picture. and Aunjanue Ellis won Best Supporting Actress. in addition to two other wins for the film: Breakout Actor (Saniyya Sidney) and Emerging Director (Reinaldo Marcus Green). “The more they fall(Netflix) won Best Picture, Best Ensemble, Best Music (Jeymes Samuel, Kid Cudi, Jay-Z) and Best Director (Jeymes Samuel).

More from IndieWire

Jennifer Hudson (“Respect,” MGM/UA) and Corey Hawkins (“The Tragedy of Macbeth,” Apple TV+) also picked up acting honors. Best Screenplay went to Oscar-nominated Adam McKay’s ‘Don’t Look Up’ (Netflix), while Jeffery Robinson’s documentary ‘Who We Are’ (Sony Pictures Classics) snagged Best Feature. independent. Oscar-nominated Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson’s “Summer of Soul” (Searchlight) won Best Documentary, while fellow nominee Stanley Nelson and Traci Curry’s “Attica” won the Stanley Kramer Award for social justice.

Aunjanue Ellis, Sherri Shepherd, Kelvin Harrison Jr., Reinaldo Marcus Green, Lee Daniels, Shaka King, Jeymes Samuel were in attendance at the SLS Hotel in Los Angeles – and with some honors accepted on behalf of winners who couldn’t be there. , Travon Free, Charlamagne Tha God, Adam McKay, Meagan Good, Cassandra Freeman, Franklin Leonard, and more.


Best picture: “The More They Fall”

Best Director: Jeymes Samuel (“The More They Fall”)

Best Screenplay: “Don’t Look Up” (Adam McKay)

Best actor: Will Smith (“King Richard”)

Best Actress: Jennifer Hudson (“Respect”)

Best Supporting Actor: Corey Hawkins (“The Tragedy of Macbeth”)

Best Supporting Actress: Aunjanue Ellis (“King Richard”)

Breakout actor: Saniyya Sidney (“King Richard”)

Best Overall: “The More They Fall”

Emerging Director: Reinaldo Marcus Green (“King Richard”)

Best Music: “The More They Fall” (Jeymes Samuel, Kid Cudi, Jay-Z)

Best Indie Feature: “Who we are”

Best Documentary: “Summer of the Soul”

The Stanley Kramer Prize for Social Justice: “Attica” director Stanley Nelson and co-director Traci Curry

Building Change Award: Roxanne Avent-Taylor, film group The Hidden Empire

Tribute to Excellence: John Gibson, MPA Advisor for Multicultural Inclusion and Awareness

The Innovator Award: Oscar-nominated composer Terence Blanchard (“Da 5 Bloods”, “BlacKkKlansmen”)

The winners are chosen by the approximately 90 members of the AAFCA, a geographically diverse cross-section of journalists covering all genres of film arts through multiple media, including print, television, radio and online. Together they reach a global audience of over 100 million people.

Best of IndieWire

Sign up for Indiewire Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitterand instagram.

Click here to read the full article.


Comments are closed.