African-American film critics will pay tribute to Igbokwe, Kurtzman and Warner Bros. TV Group


The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) has revealed its Special Achievement winners for the 4th Annual AAFCA Television Honors, which will be celebrated at an invitation-only in-person luncheon on August 20. at the SLS Hotel in Los Angeles. Launched in 2019, the AAFCA TV Honors recognize outstanding achievement in television and streaming, with a particular focus on entertainment representing the black diaspora. The organization will award special honors to several industry leaders, including Universal Studio Group President Pearlena Igbokwe, who will receive the Ashley Boone Award, Alex Kurtzman, who will receive the AAFCA Ally Award, and the Inclusion of the AAFCA, which will be awarded to Warner Bros. Television. Band. WBTVG President Channing Dungey will accept the award on behalf of the studio.

On July 18, the AAFCA will announce the winners in 14 categories, including Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Comedy Series, Best Drama Series and more. These winners will be recognized and celebrated alongside the winners at the August 20 event.

AAFCA Co-Founder and President Gil Robertson IV said of the Special Honorees, “In the ever-changing landscape of television, their creativity and progressive leadership are the foundation on which our industry is built and inspire us all.”

Ashley Boone Award
Named after pioneering studio executive Ashley A. Boone, this award is given to an executive who has distinguished himself within the industry with excellence. Universal Studio Group Chairman Igbokwe leads four powerful studios: Universal Television, Universal Content Productions (UCP), Universal Television Alternative Studio and Universal International Studios which produce over 3,000 hours of programming currently broadcast or broadcast worldwide . Notable USG projects under his responsibility include “Hacks”, “Russian Doll”, “Never Have I Ever”, “Girls5eva”, “The Equalizer”, “The Umbrella Academy”, “Dr. Death”, “Gaslit “, “Made in Chelsea”, “Clickbait”, “We Are Lady Parts”, “Making It” and the longtime NBC favorite “Hollywood Game Night”.

Ally’s Price
The Ally Award is given to an individual or company in recognition of their commitment to diversity/inclusion in their projects. Through his production company, Secret Hideout and his work as an executive producer, writer and director, Kurtzman is dedicated to developing and producing a wide range of sophisticated and compelling content across all platforms. Kurtzman’s credits include the award-winning “Star-Trek: Discovery”, the acclaimed “Star Trek: Picard”, and most recently “Star Trek: Strange New Worlds” and “The Man Who Fell From Earth”, co-writing some of the greatest films of the decade, including “Star Trek”, “Star Trek: Into Darkness”, “The Amazing Spider Man 2”, “Transformers” and the making of films such as “The Mummy” and “People Like Us”.

Price Inclusion
The Inclusion Award recognizes an organization with a demonstrable commitment to inclusion in its programming and corporate activities. Warner Bros. Television Group (WBTVG) oversees and develops the entire portfolio of Warner Bros.’ television ventures, including scripted and unscripted live-action shows, as well as animation. WBTVG’s production divisions include Warner Bros. Television, which produces live-action scripted comedies, dramas, limited series and original films; Warner Bros. Unscripted Television, which offers unscripted and alternative series, documentaries, talk shows and podcasts through three production units, Warner Horizon Unscripted Television, Telepictures and Shed Media; and animated series from Warner Bros. Animation, Cartoon Network Studios and Hanna-Barbera Studios Europe. As of July 2022, these divisions are producing over 110 series for Warner Bros.’ HBO Max. Discovery, external streaming services, cable, broadcast networks and the US first-run syndication market. Select current WBTVG programs including “Abbott Elementary”, “All American”, “All American: Homecoming”, “All Rise”, franchise “The Bachelor”, “Bob ♥ Abishola”, “The Cleaning Lady”, “Craig of the Creek”, “The Flash”, “The Air Hostess”, “Gossip Girl”, “Gremlins: Secrets of the Mogwai”, “The Jennifer Hudson Show”, “Kung Fu”, “Mathis Family Matters” , ‘Queen Sugar’, ‘The Real Housewives Ultimate Girls Trip’, ‘Riverdale’, ‘College Sex Life’, ‘Ted Lasso’, ‘Titans’, ‘The Voice’, ‘Young Sheldon’ and more.

Founded in 2003, the AAFCA is the world’s premier black film critics organization, actively reviewing film and television, with a particular focus on entertainment highlighting the black experience in the United States and the rest of the African Diaspora.

Morgan Stanley is once again the presenting sponsor of the AAFCA TV Honors.


Comments are closed.