‘Aftersun’ tops British Independent Film Awards nominations


“Charlotte Wells”After Sun“and Georgia Oakley”blue jeanled the nominations for the 2022 British Independent Film Award (BIFA) with 16 and 13 nominations respectively.

Sebastián Lelio’s “The Wonder” followed with 12 nominations, Oliver Hermanus’ “Living” nine and Peter Strickland’s “Flux Gourmet” seven.

Starting this year, the awards go permanently gender neutral for acting categories the traditional Best Actress and Supporting Actor awards being replaced with Best Lead Performance, Best Supporting Performance, Best Joint Lead Performance – for performances that are the focus of the film – and Best Ensemble.

The nominations were revealed at the Everyman Broadgate cinema in London by hosts, actors Sam Clafin (“Peaky Blinders”) and Kosar Ali (two-time BIFA winner for “Rocks”).


The Richard Harris Award for Outstanding Contribution by an Actor to British Cinema
to be announced

Best British Independent Film
“Aftersun” – Charlotte Wells, Barry Jenkins, Mark Ceryak, Adele Romanski, Amy Jackson
“Blue Jean” – Georgia Oakley, Hélène Sifre
“Good Luck to You, Leo Grande” – Sophie Hyde, Katy Brand, Debbie Gray, Adrian Politowski
“Live” – Oliver Hermanus, Kazuo Ishiguro, Stephen Woolley, Elizabeth Karlsen
“The Marvel” – Sebastián Lelio, Emma Donoghue, Alice Birch, Juliette Howell, Andrew Lowe, Tessa Ross, Ed Guiney

Sky Cinema Sponsored Best Director
Oliver Hermanus – “Live”
Sophie Hyde – “Good Luck To You, Leo Grande”
Sebastian Lelio – “The Wonder”
Georgia Oakley – “Blue Jeans”
Charlotte Wells – “After Sun”

Best Screenplay
Katy Brand – “Good Luck to You, Leo Grande”
Kazuo Ishiguro – “Live”
Sebastián Lelio, Alice Birch, Emma Donoghue – “The Marvel”
Georgia Oakley – “Blue Jeans”
Charlotte Wells – “After Sun”

Better prospect performance
Sally Hawkins – “The Lost King”
Cosmo Jarvis – “It’s In Us All”
Emma Mackey- “Emily”
Rosy McEwen – “Blue Jeans”
Bill Nighy – “Live”
Florence Pugh – “The Marvel”
Emily Watson “God’s Creatures”
Hala Zein – “Nezouh”

Better support performance
Zoey Deutch – “The Outfit”
Aisling Franciosi – “God’s Creatures”
Lucy Halliday – “Blue Jeans”
Kerrie Hayes – “Blue Jeans”
Zainab Joda – “Our river… Our sky”
Fatma Mohamed – “Gourmet Flow”
Paul Mescal – “The Creatures of God”
Fionn Whitehead – “Emily”
Aimee Lou Wood – “Live”

Better joint performance of the leaders
Frankie Corio, Paul Mescal – “After Sun”
Daryl McCormack, Emma Thompson – “Good Luck to You, Leo Grande”
Jessie Buckley, Rory Kinnear – “Men”
Tamara Lawrance, Letitia Wright – “The Silent Twins”

Best overall performance
“Blue Jean” set featuring Rosy Mcewen, Kerrie Hayes, Lucy Halliday, Lydia Page, Stacy Abalogun, Farrah Cave, Amy Booth-Steel
“Emily” set including Amelia Gething, Emma Mackey, Oliver Jackson-Cohen, Fionn Whitehead, Alexandra Dowling, Gemma Jones, Adrian Dunbar
“Flux Gourmet” ensemble composed of Makis Papadimitriou, Gwendoline Christie, Asa Butterfield, Fatma Mohamed, Ariane Labed, Richard Bremmer
“Our River…Our Sky” ensemble featuring Zainab Joda, Darina Al Joundi, Amed Hashimi, Mahmoud Abo Al Abbas, Basim Hajar, Labwa Arab, Meriam Abbas, Siham Mustafa
“The Wonder” ensemble including Kíla Lord Cassidy, Florence Pugh, Tom Burke, Toby Jones, Niamh Algar, Elaine Cassidy, Ciarán Hinds, Brían F. O’Byrne, Josie Walker

Breakthrough performance sponsored by Netflix
Frankie Corio – “After Sun”
Leo Long – “I Used to Be Famous”
Kila Lord Cassidy – “The Wonder”
Rosy McEwen – “Blue Jeans”
Safia Oakley-Green – “The Origin”

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best First Director) sponsored by BBC Film
Andrew Cumming – “The Origin”
Thomas Hardiman – “Medusa Deluxe”
Frances O’connor – “Emily”
Georgia Oakley – “Blue Jeans”
Charlotte Wells – “After Sun”

Best First Director – Documentary Feature
Kathryn Ferguson – “Nothing Compares”
Victoria Fiore – “Nascondino” [“Hide & Seek”]
Leah Gordon, Eddie Hutton Mills – “Kanaval”
Jono McLeod – “My Old School”
Becky Hutner – “Fashion Reinvented”

Breakthrough Producer Sponsored by Pinewood and Shepperton Studios
Aleksandra Bilić, Jennifer Corcoran – “Nascondino” [Hide & Seek”]
Paul Kennedy “Nightride” [also produced by Jon Silk]
Rupert Majendie – “Brian and Charles”
Nadira Murray – “Winners” [also produced by Paul Welsh]
Hélène Sifre – “Blue Jeans”

Best First Screenwriter sponsored by Film4
Shane Crowley – “God’s Creatures”
David Earl, Chris Hayward – “Brian and Charles”
Ruth Greenberg – “The Origin”
Georgia Oakley – “Blue Jeans”
Charlotte Wells – “After Sun”

The Raindance Discovery Prize
“Electric Malady” – Marie Lidén, Aimara Reques
“Fadia’s Tree” – Sarah Beddington, Susan Simnett
“Off the Rails” – Peter Day, Grant Keir, Rob Alexander
“Rebellion” – Elena Sánchez Bellot, Maia Kenworthy, Kat Mansoor
“Winners” – Hassan Nazer, Nadira Murray, Paul Welsh

Best Documentary Feature Sponsored by Intermission
“My Childhood, My Country – 20 Years in Afghanistan” – Phil Grabsky, Shoaib Sharifi, Amanda Wilkie
“My Old School” – Jono Mcleod, John Archer, Olivia Lichtenstein
“Nascondin” [Hide & Seek”] – Victoria Fiore, Jennifer Corcoran, Aleksandra Bilić
“Nothing Compares” – Kathryn Ferguson, Eleanor Emptage, Michael Mallie
“Young Plato” – Neasa Ní Chianáin, Declan Mcgrath, David Rane

Best British Short Supported by BFI Network
“A Fox in the Night” – Keeran Anwar Blessie, Benjamin Jacob Smith Honesty Roxy Rezvany, Emily Renée, Elly Camisa
“Sandstorm” – Seemab Gul, merchant Abid Aziz
“Ladder” – Joseph Pierce, Hélène Mitjavile
“Too Brutal” – Sean Lìonadh, Ross Mckenzie, Alfredo Covelli

Best international independent film sponsored by Champagne Taittinger
“All the Beauty and the Bloodshed” – Laura Poitras, Howard Gertler, John Lyons, Nan Goldin, Yoni Golijov
“Close” – Lukas Dhont, Angelo Tijssens, Michiel Dhont, Dirk Impens
“Decision to Leave” Park Chan-wook, Chung Seo-kyung
“Everything Everywhere At The Same Time” – Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert, Jonathan Wang, Joe Russo, Anthony Russo, Mike Larocca
“The worst person in the world” – Joachim Trier, Eskil Vogt, Andrea Berentsen Ottmar, Thomas Robsahm

Best Sponsored Casting by Casting Society & Spotlight
Shaheen Baig – “Blue Jeans”
Leila Bertrand – “Our river… Our sky”
Kharmel Cochrane – “The Silent Twins”
Kahleen Crawford – “Live”
Lucy Pardee – “After Sun”

Best Costume Design
Jenny Beavan – “Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris”
Saffron Cullane – “Gourmet Flux”
Odile Dicks-Mireaux – “The Wonder”
Frank Gallacher – “After Sun”
Sandy Powell – “Live”

Best Cinematography sponsored by Dirty Looks & Kodak
Alfredo DeJuan – “Nascondino” [“Hide & Seek”]
Rob Hardy – “Men”
Joel Honeywell – “Kanaval”
Gregory Oke – “After Sun”
Ari Wegner – “The Marvel”

Best Editing
Joanna Crickmay – “Elizabeth: A Multi-Part Portrait”
Izabella’s Curry – “Blue Jeans”
Mátyás Fekete – “Gourmet Flow”
Mick Mahon – “Nothing Compares”
Blair McClendon – “After Sun”

Best Original Music Sponsored by Universal Music Publishing
Danny Bensi, Saunder Jurriaans – “God’s Creatures”
Oliver Coates – “After Sun”
Matthew Herbert – “The Wonder”

Adam Janota Bzowski “The Origin”

Ben Salisbury, Geoff Barrow – “Men”

Best Effects
Chris Marshall – “The Feast”
David Simpson – “Men”
Ahmed Yousry – “Nezouh”

Best sound supported by Halo
Tim Harrison, Raoul Brand, Cassandra Rutledge – “Gourmet Flow”
Glenn Freemantle, Ben Barker, Gillian Dodders, Howard Bargoff, Mitch Low – “Men”
Jovan Ajder – “After Sun”
Hugh Fox, Ben Baird – “The Marvel”
Dom Corbisiero, Dai Shell – “The Feast”

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
Oya Aygör, Murat Çağin – “After Sun”
Morna Ferguson, Lorri Ann King – “The Marvel”
Siobhan Harper-Ryan – “Gourmet Flow”
Niamh Morrison – “The Origin”
Eugene Souleiman, Scarlett O’Connell – “Luxury Jellyfish”

Best Music Supervision
Lucy Bright – “After Sun
Phil Canning – “The Ghost of the Open”
Rupert Hollier – “Live”

Best Production Design
Fletcher Jarvis – “Gourmet Flux”
Grant Montgomery – “The Marvel”
Helen Scott – “Live”
Billur Turan – “After Sun”
Gary Williamson – “Luxury Jellyfish”


Comments are closed.