Ajay Devgn: 68th National Film Awards: Ajay Devgn, Suriya and Asha Parekh honored at a prestigious ceremony

The 68th National Film Awards honored some of India’s best films on Friday at an event held at Vigyan Bhawan in New Delhi.

Big celebrities such as Ajay Devgn, Asha Parekh, Suriya and many more were honored at the prestigious awards ceremony which is currently one year behind schedule due to the delay caused by the Covid-19 pandemic. The winners of the 68th National Awards were announced in July.

This Friday’s big event was broadcast live by the Press Information Office on its social media channels.

Bollywood actor Ajay Devgn shared the Best Actor title with Southern superstar Suriya for his performance in period drama “Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior.” The film also won Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment. Meanwhile, ‘Soorarai Pottru’ won Best Feature.

Veteran actress Parekh has been awarded the Dada Saheb Phalke Award, India’s highest honor in cinema.

The 79-year-old, who was presented with the award by President Draupadi Murmu, said she was grateful to receive the prestigious award a day before her 80th birthday.

“This is the best honor I can get from the Government of India. I want to thank the jury for the recognition they gave me, my long journey and the fulfillment of my journey in the film industry,” said said Parekh, who is the recipient of the award for the year 2020.

Parekh, whose stardom was on par with male contemporaries Rajesh Khanna, Rajendra Kumar and Manoj Kumar in the 1960s-1970s, began her acting career at the age of 10 with the 1952 film “Aasmaan”.

This year, the winners were chosen from 305 feature films in 30 languages ​​and 148 non-feature films in 28 languages ​​that were received as entries. For the prize for best writing in cinema, 24 books and 5 film critics competed for the title.


Comments are closed.