Indigenous coming-of-age drama Beans wins $100,000 Toronto Film Critics Award


The drama of coming of age Beans won the Toronto Film Critics Association’s $100,000 Best Canadian Feature Award.

Director Tracey Deer was named the winner of the Rogers Award for Best Canadian Film at a lavish gala dinner Monday night, where the film’s co-writer and executive producer Meredith Vuchnich accepted on her behalf.

Past honorees and directors Jennifer Baichwal and Sarah Polley presented the award at an indoor event that restored many celebratory conventions of yesteryear.

Filmmaker David Cronenberg, director Don McKellar, I have never star Maitreyi Ramakrishnan and Toronto International Film Festival CEO Cameron Bailey were among the luminaries to gather for the party.

TIFF CEO Cameron Bailey arrives for the Toronto Film Critics Association Gala in Toronto on Monday. To his right, Never Have I Ever star Maitreyi Ramakrishnan speaks to reporters. (Chris Young/The Canadian Press)

Customers were tested for COVID-19 in advance and were required to wear masks when not eating or drinking.

Pandemic precautions forced the previous edition online, but Bailey said he was “delighted” to reunite with other film professionals.

“I see friends, I see co-workers. It’s an important thing for us to do,” Bailey said on the red carpet.

“Everyone works in isolation, especially over the past two years, and it’s important to remember that we’re not alone in this, that we have a community and we’re telling stories that resonate with people.”

“Canadians are ready to hear this story”

Beans centers on a 12-year-old Mohawk girl who comes of age during the Oka Crisis in 1990.

Ahead of the awards ceremony, Vuchnich recounted the film’s acclaimed journey since its selection at the 2020 Toronto International Film Festival.

“All the time we’ve been on this trip with Beansdoors opened for this movie that I’ve never seen open for other movies in my career,” she said.

“I think it’s because Canadians are ready to hear that story. But this movie wouldn’t exist without Tracey Deer. It’s such a personal movie for her and we were lucky enough to help her make it. tell. I’m proud of her.”

WATCH | Tracey Deer explains how her childhood influenced her film Beans:

Director Tracey Deer explains how her childhood influenced her new movie Beans

Mohawk director Tracey Deer’s new film, Beans, tells the story of a 12-year-old girl growing up during the Oka Crisis. In an interview with CBC News, Deer recalls her own experiences as a young teenager in the midst of conflict. 3:33

The finalists night raidersdirected by Danis Goulet, and Scarboroughdirected by Shasha Nakhai and Rich Williamson, each received $5,000.

Cronenberg was on hand as the recipient of the previously announced Clyde Gilmour Award, which recognizes a Canadian figure in the film industry who has made a significant contribution to Canadian cinema.

It allows the writer/director to award $50,000 in production services to a fellow filmmaker of their choice. His choice has not yet been announced.

Bailey presented two-spirited L’nu director Bretten Hannam with the previously announced $10,000 Stella Artois Jay Scott Award for Emerging Artist. Hannam wrote and directed Savagerywhich was recently nominated for six Canadian Screen Awards.

Left to right, Joshua Odjick and Phillip Lewitski in Wildhood. Director Bretten Hannam received the $10,000 Stella Artois Jay Scott Award for Emerging Artist at Monday’s gala. (Riley Smith)

Last month, the TFCA also presented the award to Ryusuke Hamaguchi drive my car with the best picture, the best international film and the best screenplay.

Other previously announced TFCA winners include Olivia Colman for Best Actress for her performance in The loss the girlwhich also won Best Supporting Actress for Jessie Buckley and Best First Feature for writer and director Maggie Gyllenhaal.

Denzel Washington won Best Actor for playing the title role in Joel Coen Macbeth’s Tragedywhile Bradley Cooper won Best Supporting Actor for his work in Paul Thomas Anderson Licorice Pizza.

Other victories included To run away Best Animated Feature and Jane Campion Best Director for The power of the dogwhile the Allan King Documentary Film Award went to soul summer.

Comedian Rick Mercer presented independent film critic Rachel Ho with the Emerging Critics Award.


Comments are closed.