Jayasurya, Anna Ben and others receive Kerala State Film Awards | Kerala State Film Award | Jayasurya


Thiruvananthapuram: The 51st Kerala State Film Awards ceremony was held here on Monday. The winners received the awards from Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan. Opening the event, the Chief Minister said Malayalam films were showing signs of change.

The new films send messages showing the importance of practicing democracy within families and questioning the misogynistic perception of the kitchen. The best film clearly depicts how patriarchy operates silently within households and affects society. The jury succeeded in marking new trends in Mollywood, added the Chief Minister.

Director Jeo Baby received the award for best film and best screenwriter for the film “The Great Indian Kitchen”. ‘Ayyapanum Koshiyum’ was selected as the best popular film. The late director Sachy’s wife, Siji, received the award on his behalf.

Jayasurya received the best actor award for his superb performance in “Vellam”. Anna Ben won Best Actress for ‘Kappela’. Siddharth Siva received the award for best director.

The best director and the best film director would receive Rs 2 lakh, a citation and a plaque each. The actor and actress would receive Rs 1 lakh, citation and plaque each. A jury headed by lead actress Suhasini Mani Ratnam selected the winners.

Ministers P Rajeeve, PA Mohammed Riyas, MLA VK Prashanth, Mayor Arya Rajendran, Jury President Suhasini, Dr PK Rajasekharan, KSFDC President Shaji N Karun, Academy President Chalachithra Kamal, Secretary C Ajoy and others addressed the gathering.

List of winners:

Actor – Jayasurya (‘Vellam’)

Actress – Anna Ben (‘Kappela’)

Film – ‘The Great Indian Kitchen’ directed by Jeo Baby

Director – Siddharth Siva (“Ennivar”)

Second Film – ‘Thinkalazcha Nischayam’ directed by Senna Hegde

Rookie Director – Musthafa (“Kappela”)

Actor in a Character Role – Sudheesh (“Ennivar”, “Bhoomiyile Manohara Sokaryam”)

Actress in a Character Role – Srirekha (“Veyil”)

Popular Movie – ‘Ayyppanum Koshiyum’ directed by Sachy

Male Child Artist – Niranjan S (‘Kasiminite Kadal’)

Child Female Artist – Aravya Varma (‘Pyali’)

Musical Composition – M Jayachandran (‘Sufiyum Sujathayum’)

Background Music – M Jayachandran (‘Sufiyum Sujathayum’)

Backing Track Female Singer – Nithya Mammen

Male Playback Singer -Shahabaz Aman

Director of Photography – Chandru Selvaraj

Lyricist – Anwar Ali

Artistic Director – Santhosh Raman

Editor – Mahesh Narayan

Makeup Artist – Rasheed Ahmed

Sound Mixing – Ajith Abraham George

Costume Design – Dhanya Balakrishnan

Dubbing – Riya Saira

Special Jury Prizes – Nanchiyamma, Nalini Jameela


Comments are closed.