Kansas City Film Critics Circle Names 2022 Loutzenhiser Award Winners


A cinematic year in highlights. // Courtesy of KCFCC

the Kansas City Film Critics Circle announced its winners for the 56th Annual James Loutzenhiser Awards.

The KCFCC, the second oldest organization of professional film critics in the United States, was founded in 1966 by the late Dr. James Loutzenhiser (1931-2001), who served as the group’s president for more than 30 years.

Adapted from the novel by Thomas Savage, The power of the dog received awards for Best Picture, the Robert Altman Award for Best Director (Jane Campion) and Best Actor (Benedict Cumberbatch). Campion’s effort was the only contestant to win in multiple categories.

“With more individual nominations than ever before in categories such as Best Film, Best Director and Best Foreign Film, 2021 has proven to be a diverse year for cinematic works that have been recognized,” said KCFCC Chairman, Adrian Torres. “A Jane Campion film walked away with three major awards. How many times do you get to say that? »

The 22-member group, which includes six writers from Fieldalso selected Questlove’s soul summer for Best Documentary, Japan drive my car for best foreign language film, and The green knight for the Vince Kohler Award for Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror Film.

Below is a full list of recipients of the 56th Annual James Loutzenhiser Awards:

Best film : The power of the dog
Finalist: West Side Story

Robert Altman Award for Best Director: Jane Campion, The power of the dog
Finalist: Steven Spielberg, West Side Story

Best Actor: Benedict Cumberbatch, The power of the dog
Finalist: Andrew Garfield, tick, tick… BOOM!

Best Actress: Olivia Colman, The lost girl
Finalist: Kristen Stewart, spencer

Best Supporting Actor: Ciaran Hinds, Belfast
Finalist: Kodi Smit-McPhee, The power of the dog

Best Supporting Actress: Ann Dowd, Mass
Finalist: Ariana DeBose, West Side Story

Best Original Screenplay: Licorice Pizza
Finalist: The French Dispatch

Best Adapted Screenplay: West Side Story
Finalist: drive my car

Best Cinematography: Macbeth’s Tragedy
Finalist: Dunes

Best animated film: The Mitchells vs. the Machines
Finalist: To run away

Best foreign film: drive my car – Japan
Finalist: The worst person in the world – Norway

Best Documentary: soul summer
Finalist: Procession

Vince Koehler Award for Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror Film: The green knight
Finalist: Dunes

Tom Poe Award for Best LGBTQ Film: To run away
Finalist: The power of the dog


Comments are closed.