List of 2021 Gotham Awards winners: all categories for independent cinema awards


The Gotham Awards were presented on November 29 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City. So who won these annual independent film kudos from the Gotham Film and Media Institute, which aired on Youtube and Facebook? Scroll down for the full list of winners across all categories.

Netflix’s “The Lost Daughter” and “Passing” were the two most nominated films with five each, but that didn’t automatically mean they were the first. The categories for these awards are judged by panels made up of a handful of industry insiders, often leading to unexpected and under-the-radar winners. You can’t count anyone at an event where unique juries review all nominated material.

That means these awards can be pretty idiosyncratic – they’re independent thinkers, and not just because they award independent films. So while last year’s Gotham jury honored eventual Oscar winner “Nomadland” as best feature, those kudos were previously “Half Nelson” on “The Departed” in 2006, “Inside Llewyn Davis “on” 12 Years a Slave “in 2013, and” The Rider “on” The Favorite “in 2018.

Still, winning here is a great way to start the awards season. In the past seven years, every Gotham winner has won an Oscar nomination for Best Picture, with the exception of “The Rider” (Chloe Zhaobefore the aforementioned movie “Nomadland” and four of them won (“Birdman”, “Spotlight”, “Moonlight” and “Nomadland”). It is therefore an excellent opportunity to create a dynamic that could continue in the weeks and months to come. What do you think of this year’s winners?

TO DISCUSS All Oscar contenders with Hollywood insiders in our notorious forums

Best feature
Jury Members: Lydia Dean Pilcher, Cathy Yan, Peter Saraf, Adele Romanski, Jason Mitchell

“The Green Knight”
X – “The lost girl”
“Who passed”
“Test model”

Better lead performance
Members of the jury: KiKi Layne, Tamara Jenkins, Lisa Kjerulff, Avy Kaufman, Aldis Hodge

X – Olivia Colman in “The Lost Girl”
X – Frankie Faison in “The Murder of Kenneth Chamberlain”
Michael Greyeyes in “Wild Indian”
Brittany S. Hall in “Test Pattern”
Oscar Isaac in “The Card Counter”
Taylour Paige in “Zola”
Joaquin Phoenix in “Come on, come on”
Simon Rex in “Red Rocket”
Lili Taylor in “Paper Spiders”
Tessa Thompson in “Pass”

Better support performance
Jury Members: Mr. Blair Breard, Crystal Moselle, Blythe Danner, Michael Beach, Rob Morgan

Reed Birney in “Messe”
Jessie Buckley in “The Lost Girl”
Colman Domingo in “Zola”
Gaby Hoffmann in “Come on, come on”
X – Troy Kotsur in “CODA”
Marlee Matlin in “CODA”
Ruth Negga in “Passer”

Best scenario
Members of the jury: Lucas Joaquin, Alison Wright, Ayoka Chenzira, Tayarisha Poe. Alexandre dinelaris

“The card counter”, Paul Schrader
“El Planeta”, Amalia Ulman
“The Green Knight”, David Lowery
X – “The Lost Girl”, Maggie Gyllenhaal
“By the way”, Rebecca Hall
“Red Rocket”, Sean Baker and Chris Bergoch

Best international feature film
Members of the jury: Jonathan Raymond, Jimmie Fails, Catalina Sandino Moreno, Eliza Hittman, Orion Lee

X – “Drive my car”
“The Remembrance Part II”
“What do we see when we look at the sky? “
“The worst person in the world”

Best Feature Documentary
Jury Members: Ramona Diaz, Kirsten Johnson, Roger Ross Williams, Bonni Cohen, Hao Wu

“Faya Dayi”
X – “Flee”
“Summer Of Soul (… Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised)”

Breakthrough Director
Members of the jury: John Turturro, Phillip Youmas, Helena Howard, Famke Janssen, Anne Carey

X – Maggie Gyllenhaal for “The Lost Girl”
Edson Oda for “Nine Days”
Rebecca Hall for “Pass”
Emma Seligman for “Shiva Baby”
Shatara Michelle Ford for “Test Pattern”

Revolutionary interpreter
Jury Members: Katherine Waterston, Shari Springer Berman, Matt Bomer, Isabel Sandoval, Yolonda Ross

X – Emilia Jones in “CODA”
Natalie Morales in “Language Lessons”
Rachel Sennott in Shiva Baby “
Suzanna Son in “Red Rocket”
Amalia Ulman in “El Planeta”

Revolutionary TV series (over 40 minutes)
Members of the jury: Jasmine Batchelor, Mike Harrop, Eli Goree, Amy Koppelman, Paul Mezey

“The good Lord bird”
“It’s a sin”
“Small ax”
X – “Squid game”
“The Underground Railroad”
“The white lotus”

Revolutionary TV series (less than 40 minutes)
Members of the jury: Adam Goldman, Anna Konkle, Jonathan Majors, Jenni Konner, Victoria Mahoney

“The blind spot”
X – “Reservation dogs”
“Make the world run”
“We are lady parties”

Best Performance in a New TV Series
Jury Members: Kishori Rajan, Greg Mottola, Mike Makowsky, Katori Hall, Ryan O’Nan

Jennifer Coolidge in “The White Lotus”
Michael Greyeyes in “Rutherford Falls”
X – Ethan Hawke in “The Good Lord Bird”
Devery Jacobs in “Reservation Dogs”
Lee Jung-jae in “Squid Game”
X – Thuso Mbedu in “The Underground Railroad”
Jean Smart in “Hacks”
Omar Sy in “Lupine”
Anya Taylor-Joy in “The Queen’s Gambit”
Anjana Vasan in “We Are Lady Parts”

Best New Non-Fiction TV Series
Members of the jury: Andrew Jarecki, Laura Ricciardi, Bernardo Ruiz, Tracy Heather Strain, Elyse Steinberg

“City so real”
“Exterminate all the bullies”
“How to deal with John Wilson”
X – “Philly DA”

Make your Gold Derby predictions now. Download our free and easy app to Apple / iPhone devices Where Android (Google Play) to compete with legions of other fans as well as our experts and editors for the best prediction accuracy scores. See our latest prediction champions. Can you then surpass our estimated rankings? Remember to always update your predictions as it impacts our latest race odds, which terrify chefs and Hollywood stars. Don’t miss the fun. Speak up and share your edgy opinions in our famous forums where 5,000 showbiz leaders hide out every day to keep up with the latest awards buzz. Everyone wants to know: what do you think? Who are you predicting and why?


Comments are closed.