“Lovecraft Country”, “Underground Railroad” among the big winners – The Hollywood Reporter


Following the announcement of several special accolades, the African American Film Critics Association announced the main winners of the competition for its 3rd edition of the AAFCA TV Honors, which will be presented in a COVID-compliant ceremony on the 21st. August, organized by Yvette nicole brown.

Big winners – chosen by a jury of selected AAFCA members – include Emmy-nominated HBO drama series Lovecraft Country, who was voted best actor (Jonathan majors) and best actress (Jurnee Smollett) and Amazon limited series The Underground Railroad, who was shortlisted for Best Limited Series and Best Director (Barry jenkins).

“This year’s winners reflect a healthy variety of content that is not only entertaining, but also reflects the diversity of storytelling within the black community,” AAFCA Co-Founder and President Gil robertson said in a statement. “The TV Honors jury recognizes a multitude of voices, emerging and established, whose work attests to the heterogeneity of the black experience. Robertson added, “We hope the wide range of offerings this year indicates a permanent change in the quality and depth of storytelling capturing the black television experience.”

A full list of winners follows.

Best Drama: “Queen Sugar”, OWN

Best Comedy: “A Black Lady Sketch Show”, HBO

Best Limited Series: “The Underground Railroad”, Amazon Prime Video

Best Film: “Sylvie’s Love”, Amazon Prime Video

Best Director: Barry Jenkins, “The Underground Railroad”, Amazon Prime Video

Best Writing: “Queen Sugar”, OWN

Best Actor: Jonathan Majors, “Lovecraft Country”, HBO

Best Actress: Jurnee Smollett, “Lovecraft Country”, HBO

Best Docuseries: “Exterminate All Bullies,” HBO and “High on the Hog: How African American Cuisine Transformed America,” Netflix

Best New Show: “The Equalizer”, CBS


Comments are closed.