National Society of Film Critics 2022: best film for “Drive My Car”


“Drive My Car” won Best Picture at this year’s edition of the National Society of Film Critics, continuing its string of major awards from major critic groups. The organization announced its honors on Saturday.

Ryusuke Hamaguchi’s dramatic drama also won honors from the Los Angeles Film Critics Association and the New York Film Critics Circle.

In addition to Best Picture, “Drive My Car” also won Director, Screenplay, and Best Actor for Hidetoshi Nishijima. “West Side Story”, “The Power of the Dog”, and “Little Mummy” have made frequent appearances in various slot machines.

A prestigious organization known for its nerd taste, the National Society of Film Critics (NSFC) has members from all the top entertainment publications, including VarietyPeter Debruge and Owen Gleiberman, Chief Film Critics, as well as eminent freelancers. Justin Chang of the LA Times is president of the organization.

Any film released in the United States in 2021, whether in theaters or on streaming platforms, is eligible. Unlike many other award groups, the NSFC does not have a nomination process. Prizes for winner, runner-up and third place are announced for each category alongside vote tallies which often show how close the races are. Last year, “Nomadland” won the top prize, beating “First Cow” by just two votes.

See the running list of this year’s winners below:

Best Film: “Drive My Car”
Finalist: “Little Mom” ​​| “The Power of the Dog”

Best Actor: Hidetoshi Nishijima, “Drive My Car”
Finalist: Benedict Cumberbatch, “The Power of the Dog” | Simon Rex, “Red Rockets”

Best Actress: Penélope Cruz, “Parallel Mothers”
Finalist: Renate Reinsve, “The worst person in the world” | Alana Haim, “Licorice Pizza”

Best Supporting Actress: Ruth Negga, “Passing”
Finalist: Ariana DeBose, “West Side Story” | Jessie Buckley, “The Lost Girl”

Best Supporting Actor: Anders Danielsen Lie, “Worst Person in the World”
Finalist: Vincent Lindon, “Titanium” | Mike Faist, “History of the West Side” | Kodi Smit-McPhee, “The Power of the Dog”

Best Director: Ryusuke Hamaguchi, “Drive My Car” and “Wheel of Fortune and Fantasy”
Finalist: Jane Campion, “The Power of the Dog” | Celine Sciamma, “Little Mom”

Best Screenplay: “Drive My Car”
Finalist: “Parallel mothers” | “Licorice Pizza”

Best Cinematography: “The Green Knight”
Finalist: “The power of the dog” | “Memory”

Best non-fiction film: “Flee”
Finalist: “Procession” | “The Velvet Underground”

Film Heritage Award: Maya Cade for the Black Film Archive, Bertrand Tavernier and Peter Bogdanovich

Film awaiting American distribution: “Returning to Reims”


Comments are closed.