New York Film Critics Circle Awards: watch the live stream


The winners may have already been announced, but there are still some surprises to come. Watch the ceremony here starting at 7 p.m. ET.

This year’s New York Film Critics Circle Awards is taking place virtually for the first time, and you can watch it at home. Watch the live stream of the 86th Annual Awards below, starting at 7 p.m. ET.

The winners were already announced in December, but stay tuned for plenty of surprises as the presenters include Bong Joon Ho, Frances McDormand, Chloe Sevigny, Alfre Woodard, Sacha Baron Cohen, Norm Lewis and Martin Scorsese. On Sunday evening, a special prize is also awarded to Spike Lee, the most recent director of “Da 5 Bloods”.

Among the highlights of the ceremony, below are the words of Spike Lee, who spoke about the siege of the Capitol and its aftermath. “It is a very sad day in the history of America… We are now at a crossroads… and everyone please be careful. It’s not a game. ”He also made some strong remarks about former President Donald Trump.“ That president, Agent Orange, will go down in history with people like Hitler. ”He also said the politicians who stood with Trump are “on the wrong side of history.”

This year’s awards also mark the retirement of NYFCC CEO Marshall Fine. Fine, four times former president of the group, joined the Circle in 1989. Creating the position of treasurer in 1993, he served as support for the presidents of the group. After stepping down from critics in 2016, he created the role of general manager to oversee the annual NYFCC awards dinner and ensure the group’s continuity from year to year. NYFCC de facto archivist Stephen Garrett will take over from Fine in 2021.

The 2019 NYFCC Oscar winners include “Parasite” (which won the Oscars with Best Picture, Best Director, Best Original Screenplay, and Best International Feature, after winning the NYFCC Award in foreign language) and the best supporting role. Winning actress Laura Dern (“Marriage Story”). NYFCC winners “I Lost My Body,” “Honeyland,” Joe Pesci (“The Irishman”) and Antonio Banderas (“Pain and Glory”) were also nominated for Oscars.

Here is the full list of previously announced winners for this year’s awards.

Best film : “First cow”

Best Director: Chloé Zhao, “Nomadic country”

Best screenplay: Eliza Hittman, “Never Rarely Sometimes Always”

Best Actress: Sidney Flanigan, “Never Rarely Sometimes Always”

Best actor: Delroy Lindo, “Da 5 Bloods”

Best Supporting Actress: Maria Bakalova, “Borat Post Moviefilm”

Best Supporting Actor: Chadwick Boseman, “Da 5 Bloods”

Best photography: “Small ax” (All films)

Best Non-Fiction Film: “Time”

Best Foreign Language Film: “Bacurau”

Best animated film: “Wolf walkers”

Best first film: “The 40-year-old version”

Special price: Kino Lorber, “for their creation of Kino Marquee, a virtual cinema distribution service that was designed to help support movie theaters, not destroy them.”

Special price: Spike Lee, “for inspiring the New York community with his short film ‘New York New York’ and for advocating for a better society through cinema.”

Register: Stay up to date with the latest movie and TV news! Sign up for our email newsletters here.


Comments are closed.