“Nomadland” voted best film by the National Society of Film Critics


Chloe Zhao’s “Nomadland” won this year’s National Society of Film Critics awards, earning the highest honor in four categories. The film won the awards for Best Picture and Best Cinematography, while Zhao received the Award for Best Director and star Frances McDormand was named Best Actress.

The 55th annual voting meeting took place on Saturday, with the results being shared on the organization’s Twitter account as each category was voted on. A weighted voting system required voters to select their first, second and third choice for each category, with each position giving the film a different score. The category winners are those who have received the most cumulative points.

Delroy Lindo won the title of best actor for his role in “Da 5 Bloods” by Spike Lee. Lindo’s portrayal of a military veteran received critical praise throughout the year.

Maria Bakalova, who rose to fame after her performance in “Borat After Moviefilm”, won the honor of Best Supporting Actress following this year’s vote, while “Sound of Metal” star Paul Raci has been dubbed Best Supporting Actor.

And although “My Rainey’s Black Bottom” didn’t top any of the acting categories, it came close to winning in the Best Actress, Best Actor, and Best Supporting Actor categories. Boseman, a finalist for Best Actor due to his performance in the film directed by Viola Davis, also came close to winning the Best Supporting Actor award for “Da 5 Bloods”. He came third in the category.

The full list of winners and finalists is available on the website Announcement thread of the National Society of Film Critics, or read below for those who won first place.

Better picture: “Nomadic country”

Best Director: Chloe Zhao

Best actor: Delroy Lindo, “Da 5 Bloods”

Best actress: Frances McDormand, “Nomadic Country”

Best Supporting Actor: Paul Raci, “The sound of metal”

Best Supporting Actress: Maria Bakalova, “Borat Post Moviefilm”

Best photography: Joshua James Richards, “Nomadic Country”

Best scenario: Eliza Hittman, “Never Rarely Sometimes Always”

Best Foreign Language Film: “Collective”

Best fiction film: “Time”

Film heritage award: Women Make Movies, Film Comment, the Brattle Theater (Cambridge, MA)


Comments are closed.