“Nomadland” Wins Five at Chicago Film Critics Awards


The Chicago Film Critics Association named Chloe Zhao’s “Nomadland” as this year’s Grand Prize winner, taking home five awards, including Best Picture, Director, Actress (Frances McDormand), Adapted Screenplay and Photography. Topping the CFCA nominations with seven, the Searchlight Pictures drama has put on a stunning performance with the half-dozen Critics’ Awards that have been announced so far. Zhao is currently 6/6 for critical wins.

With two awards, Focus Features’ “Never Rarely Sometimes Always” walked away with Best Original Screenplay for writer Eliza Hittman and Most Promising Performer for Sidney Flanigan.

The other winners won a single mention for their respective films. Chadwick Boseman won the Best Actor award for “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”, while Paul Raci won another trophy for “Sound of Metal”. Maria Bakalova’s work in “Borat After Moviefilm” has also been recognized, marking her third victory this season so far.

The full list of winners is below:

Better picture

  • “Da 5 Bloods” (Netflix)
  • “First cow” (A24)
  • “Lovers Rock” (First video)
  • “Nomadland” (Searchlight Images) – WINNER
  • “Young promising woman” (Focus)

Best director

  • Emerald Fennell, “Young Promising Woman” (Focus Features)
  • Spike Lee, “Da 5 Bloods” (Netflix)
  • Steve McQueen, “Lovers Rock” (main video)
  • Kelly Reichardt, “First Cow” (A24)
  • Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland” (Searchlight Photos) – WINNER

Best actor

  • Riz Ahmed, “Sound of Metal” (Amazon Studios)
  • Chadwick Boseman, “My Rainey’s Black Bottom” (Netflix) – WINNER
  • Anthony Hopkins, “The Father” (Sony Pictures Classics)
  • Delroy Lindo, “Da 5 Bloods” (Netflix)
  • Steven Yeun, “Minari” (A24)

Best actress

  • Jessie Buckley, “I’m Thinking Of Ending This” (Netflix)
  • Carrie Coon, “The Nest” (IFC Films)
  • Viola Davis, “My Rainey’s Black Background” (Netflix)
  • Frances McDormand, “Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures) – WINNER
  • Carey Mulligan, “Young Promising Woman” (Focus Features)

Best Supporting Actor

  • Chadwick Boseman, “Da 5 Bloods” (Netflix)
  • Bill Murray, “On the Rocks” (A24 / Apple TV Plus)
  • Leslie Odom, Jr., “One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios)
  • Paul Raci, “Sound of Metal” (Amazon Studios) – WINNER
  • David Strathairn, “Nomadland” (Searchlight Photos)

Best Supporting Actress

  • Maria Bakalova, “Borat After Moviefilm” (Amazon Studios) – WINNER
  • Toni Collette, “I’m Thinking of Ending Things” (Netflix)
  • Amanda Seyfried, “Mank” (Netflix)
  • Letitia Wright, “Mangrove” (main video)
  • Yuh-Jung Youn, “Minari” (A24)

Best Original Screenplay

  • “Da 5 Bloods” (Netflix) – Danny Bilson, Paul De Meo, Kevin Willmott and Spike Lee
  • “Never Rarely Sometimes Always” (Focus Features) – Eliza Hittman – WINNER
  • “Young Promising Woman” (Focus) – Emerald Fennell
  • “Soul” (Pixar) – Pete Docter, Mike Jones and Kemp Powers
  • “The Chicago Trial 7” (Netflix) – Aaron Sorkin

Best Adapted Scenario

  • “The Father” (Sony Pictures Classics) – Christopher Hampton & Florian Zeller
  • “First Cow” (A24) – Jonathan Raymond & Kelly Reichardt
  • “I’m Thinking of Ending Things” (Netflix) – Charlie Kaufman
  • “Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures) – Chloé Zhao – WINNER
  • “One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios) – Kemp Powers

Best animated film

  • “Forward” (Pixar)
  • “A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon” (Netflix)
  • “Soul” (Pixar)
  • “The Wolf House” (Kimstim Films)
  • “Wolfwalkers” (Apple TV Plus / GKIDS) – WINNER

Best artistic direction

  • “Birds of Prey” (Warner Bros.)
  • “Emma.” (Focus Features)
  • “First cow” (A24)
  • “I’m Thinking of Ending Things” (Netflix)
  • “Mank” (Netflix) – WINNER

Best photography

  • “First Cow” (A24) – Christopher Blauvelt
  • “Lovers Rock” (Prime Video) – Shabier Kirchner
  • “Mank” (Netflix) – Erik Messerschmidt
  • “Nomadland” (Searchlight Images) – Joshua James Richards – WINNER
  • “The Vast of Night” (Amazon Studios) – Miguel Ioann Littin Menz

Best costume design

  • “Birds of Prey” (Warner Bros.) – Erin Benach
  • “Emma.” (Focus Features) – Alexandra Byrne – WINNER
  • “First Cow” (A24) – April Napier
  • “Ma Rainey’s Black Background” (Netflix) – Ann Roth
  • “Mank” (Netflix) – Trish Summerville

Best Editing

  • “I’m Thinking of Ending Things” (Netflix) – Robert Frazen – WINNER
  • “Lovers Rock” (Prime Video) – Chris Dickens & Steve McQueen
  • “Nomadland” (Searchlight Photos) – Chloé Zhao
  • “Tenet” (Warner Bros.) – Jennifer Lame
  • “The Chicago Trial 7” (Netflix) – Alan Baumgarten

Better use of visual effects

  • “I’m Thinking of Ending Things” (Netflix)
  • “The Invisible Man” (Universal Pictures) – WINNER
  • “Midnight Sky” (Netflix)
  • “Owner” (Neon)
  • “Principle” (Warner Bros.)

Best Original Music

  • “Da 5 Bloods” (Netflix) – Terence Blanchard
  • “My Rainey’s Black Background” (Netflix) – Branford Marsalis
  • “Mank” (Netflix) – Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross
  • “Soul” (Pixar) – Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross & Jon Batiste – WINNER
  • “Tenet” (Warner Bros.) – Ludwig Goransson

Best Documentary

  • “Collective” (Photos Magnolia and participant)
  • “David Byrne’s American Utopia” (HBO Films)
  • “Dick Johnson is Dead” (Netflix) – WINNER
  • “The Social Dilemma” (Netflix)
  • “Time” (Amazon Studios)

Best Foreign Language Film

  • “Another round” – WINNER
  • “Bacurau”
  • “Beanpole”
  • “Collective”
  • “La Llorona”
  • “Vitalina Varela”

Milos Stehlik Award for Promising Director

  • Radha Blank, “The Forty-Year Old Version” (Netflix)
  • Lee Isaac Chung, “Minari” (A24)
  • Emerald Fennell, “Promising Young Woman” (Focus Features) – WINNER
  • Darius Marder, “Sound of Metal” (Amazon Studios)
  • Andrew Patterson, “The Vast of Night” (Amazon Studios)

Most promising performer

  • Maria Bakalova, “Borat Post Moviefilm” (Amazon Studios)
  • Kingsley Ben-Adir, “A Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios)
  • Sidney Flanigan, “Never Rarely Sometimes Always” (Focus Features) – WINNER
  • Kelly O’Sullivan, “Saint Frances” (oscilloscope photos)
  • Helena Zengel, “News of the World” (Universal Pictures)

Visit THE AWARDS HUB to see the full list of nominees by category.


Comments are closed.