‘Nomadland’ Wins Indiana Film Critics Association Wins


Chloe Zhao’s “Nomadland” continued its reign over the weekend, winning four awards – including Best Picture, Director, Actress (Frances McDormand) and Adapted Screenplay – at the Indiana Film Journalists Association Awards.

Zhao won the director’s award at all five critics’ awards presented last week.

Leslie Odom Jr. won his first award for his portrayal of Sam Cooke in Regina King’s “One Night in Miami,” with Chadwick Boseman being named a finalist in both primary and secondary categories for “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” and “Da 5 Bloods.”

Other winners have also been repeats from past critic groups, including Delroy Lindo as best actor for “Da 5 Bloods” and Maria Bakalova as supporting actress for “Borat Next Moviefilm.” Eliza Hittman picked up a win for “Never Rarely Sometimes Always” for Best Original Screenplay – the film’s second trophy in this race this season.

The full list of winners and runners-up is below:

Leslie Odom Jr in “One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios)
Photo courtesy of Amazon Studios

Best film: “Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures)
Finalist: “My Rainey’s Black Bottom” (Netflix)


  • “Another Round”
  • “The Wizard”
  • “Da 5 Bloods”
  • “First Cow”
  • “I’m thinking of ending it”
  • “Never Rarely Sometimes Always”
  • “Minary”
  • “The twentieth century”

Best Director: Chloe Zhao, “Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures)
Finalist: Regina King, “One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios)

Best actor: Delroy Lindo, “Da 5 Bloods” (Netflix)
Finalist: Chadwick Boseman, “My Rainey’s Black Bottom” (Netflix)

Best Actress: Frances McDormand, “Nomadland” (Images Searchlight)
Finalist: Jessie Buckley, “I’m Thinking of Ending Things” (Netflix)

Best Supporting Actor: Leslie Odom Jr., “One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios)
Finalist: Chadwick Boseman, “Da 5 Bloods” (Netflix)

Best Supporting Actress: Maria Bakalova, “Borat Next Film” (Amazon Studios)
Finalist: Yuh-jung Youn, “Minari” (A24)

Best Original Screenplay: “Never Rarely Sometimes Always” (Focus Features) – Eliza Hittman
Finalist: “The Twentieth Century” (Oscilloscope Pictures) – Matthew Rankin

Best Adapted Screenplay: “Nomadland” (Images Searchlight) – Chloe Zhao
Runner Up: “Thinking About Ending Things” (Netflix) – Charlie Kaufman

Best Animated Film: “Soul” (Pixar)
Finalist: “Wolfwalkers” (Apple TV Plus/GKIDS)

Best Musical Score: Ludwig Göransson, “Tenet” (Warner Bros.)
Finalist: Emile Mosseri, “Minari” (A24)

Best Documentary: “Dick Johnson is dead” (Netflix)
Finalist: “Athlete A” (Netflix)

Best Foreign Language Film: “Another Round” (Nordisk Film)
Finalist: “Chanson sans nom” (Sophie Dulac Distribution)

Escape of the year: Maria Bakalova, “Borat Next Film” (Amazon Studios)
Finalist: Andrew Patterson, “The Vast of the Night” (Amazon Studios)

Better voice/motion capture performance: Jamie Foxx, “Soul” (Pixar)
Finalist: Sean Bean, “Wolfwalkers” (Apple TV Plus/GKIDS)

Best Overall Acting: “Ma Rainey’s black buttocks” (Netflix)
Finalist: “One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios)

Original Vision Award: “The Twentieth Century” (Oscilloscope Photos)
Finalist: “Dick Johnson is dead” (Netflix)

Hoosier Award: “Athlete A” (Netflix)

The Indiana Film Journalists Association was formed in 2009 to celebrate the film arts and support Hoosier’s film criticism.

Visit THE AWARDS HUB to see the full list of nominees by category.


Comments are closed.