Pearlena Igbokwe and Alex Kurtzman to Receive African American Film Critics Association Honors


Universal Studio Group President Pearlena Igbokwe, producer/writer/director Alex Kurtzman and Warner Bros. Television Group will receive special honors at the African American Film Critics Association’s 4th Annual AAFCA TV Honors, to be held August 20 in Los Angeles.

The AAFCA announced the awards on Wednesday. The lunch ceremony at the SLS Hotel will also present awards in 14 television categories. The AAFCA TV Honors were created in 2019 to celebrate television and streaming programming, with a particular focus on “entertainment representing the black diaspora.”

Igbokwe will receive the Ashley Boone Award, which is given to an industry leader. She runs Universal Television, Universal Content Productions, Universal Television Alternative Studio and Universal International Studios, overseeing programs such as “Hacks”, “Russian Doll”, “Never Have I Ever”, “Girls5Eva” and “Gaslit”.

Read also :
‘The Harder They Fall’, ‘King Richard’, ‘Respect’ Leading African American Film Critics’ Top 10

Kurtzman will receive the Ally Award, which recognizes an individual or company committed to diversity and inclusion. His work includes a number of films and series from the “Star Trek” franchise, as well as “The Man Who Fell From Earth”, “The Amazing Spider-Man 2”, “Transformers” and “The Mummy”.

The Warner Bros. television group. will receive the Inclusion Award, which recognizes “an organization with a demonstrable commitment to inclusion in its programming and corporate activities.” WBTVG President Channing Dungey will accept the award.

Morgan Stanley will be the presenting sponsor of the AAFCA TV Honors.


Comments are closed.