“Quo Vadis, Aida? “, The victory of Riz Ahmed” Flee “at the European Film Awards


“Quo Vadis, Aïda? »Won first prize at the European Film Awards on Saturday night. Directed by Jasmila Žbanić, the film was named European Film of 2021. Žbanić also won the award for Best Director.

Other winners included ‘Flee’, an animated documentary about the executive of the refugee experience produced by Riz Ahmed, which won the award for best documentary and best animated film while Jasna Đuričić won the European Actress Statuette for her role in “Quo Vadis, Aida? And Anthony Hopkins won the award for best actor for his performance in “The Father.”

Hosted by German actress Annabelle Mandeng, the awards were originally supposed to have been presented in person at a socially distanced event in Berlin, but with the Omicron variant of Covid-19 roaming Europe, it has been decided to have a mostly virtual ceremony instead. Nominees, presenters and winners participated in a mix of live, virtual and pre-recorded formats.

Find out below the winners and nominees, voted on by more than 4,200 members of the European Film Academy:

European cinema
“Compartment n 6”, Director: Juho Kuosmanen
“Quo Vadis, Aida? », Director: Jasmila Žbanić – WINNER
“The Father”, Director: Florian Zeller
“The hand of God”, Director: Paolo Sorrentino
“Titane”, realization: Julia Ducournau

European comedy
“Ninjababy”, Director: Yngvild Sve Flikke – WINNER
“The Morning After”, Director: Méliane Marcaggi
“People upstairs”, Réal: Cesc Gay

European Documentary
“Babi Yar. Context ”, Director: Sergei Loznitsa
“Escape”, Director: Jonas Poher Rasmussen – WINNER
“M. Bachmann and his class”, Director: Maria Speth
“Taming the garden”, Director: Salomé Jashi
“The most beautiful boy in the world”, Dirs: Kristina Lindström and Kristian Petri

European animated feature film
“Even mice belong to paradise”, Dirs: Denisa Grimmová & Jan Bubeníček
“Escape”, Director: Jonas Poher Rasmussen – WINNER
“The Star of the Apes”, Director: Linda Hambäck
“Where’s Anne Frank”, Dir: Ari Folman
“Wolfwalkers”, Dirs: Tomm Moore & Ross Stewart

Europe Director
Julia Ducornau for “Titane”
Radu Jude for “Mal Luck Banging Or Loony Porn”
Paolo Sorrentino for “The Hand of God”
Jasmila Žbanić for “Quo Vadis, Aida? “- WINNER
Florian Zeller for “The Father”

European actress
Jasna Đuričić in “Quo Vadis, Aida? – WINNER
Seidi Haarla in “Compartment n ° 6”
Carey Mulligan in “A Promising Young Woman”
Renate Reinsve in “The Worst Person in the World”
Agathe Rousselle in “Titane”

European actor
Yuriy Borisov in “Compartment n ° 6”
Anthony Hopkins in “The Father” – WINNER
Vincent Lindon in “Titane”
Tahar Rahim in “The Mauritanian”
Franz Rogowski in “The great freedom”

European screenwriter
Radu Jude for “Mal Luck Banging Or Loony Porn”
Paolo Sorrentino for “The Hand of God”
Joachim Trier and Eskil Vogt for “The Worst Person in the World”
Jasmila Žbanić for “Quo Vadis, Aida? “
Florian Zeller & Christopher Hampton for “The Father” – WINNER

European Discovery – Fipresci Prize
“Debut”, Director: Dea Kulumbegashvili
“Lamb”, Director: Valdimar Jóhannsson
“Playground”, Director: Laura Wandel
“Pleasure,” Director: Ninja Thyberg
“Promising”, Young Woman Dir: Emerald Fennell – WINNER
“The Whaling Boy”, Director: Philipp Yuryev

European short film
“Bella”, Director: Thelyia Petraki
“Displaced”, Director: Samir Karahoda
“Easter eggs”, Director: Nicolas Keppens
“In Flow of Words”, Director: Eliane Esther Bots
“My Uncle Tudor”, Director: Olga Lucovnicova – WINNER


Comments are closed.