Rajinikanth congratulates Suriya for Soorarai Pottru – Cinema express


Following the announcement of the 68th National Film Awards, Rajinikanth took to his Twitter account on Saturday to congratulate actor Suriya on winning the Best Actor award.

His statement read, “My warmest congratulations and gratitude to Suriya, the director of Soorarai Pottru and all the other artists who have won the National Film Awards.”

Also, several other artists including Mammootty, Mohanlal, Chiranjeevi, Akshay Kumar, Dhanush and Madhavan among others have wished for the actor. Tamil Chief Minister MK Stalin also expressed his gratitude to Suriya and the other laureates. Some of them also sent their birthday wishes to Suriya who celebrates her 47th birthday on Saturday July 23.

Soorarai Pottru became the most famous film of this edition with wins for Best Film, Suriya (Best Actor), GV Prakash Kumar (Best Background Music), Sudha Kongara and Shalini Usha Nair (Best Screenplay).

The 68th national awards for films submitted in 2020 were announced on Friday. It was a huge boost for South Indian cinema, which picked up 20 wins across the 29 award-winning feature film categories. While Tamil cinema led the pack with nine wins, Malayalam cinema followed closely behind with six, Telugu with three and Kannada with two.


Comments are closed.