The Iowa Film Critics Association Announces Choices for Best Movies of 2021


“Belfast” was voted Best Film of 2021 by the Iowa Film Critics Association (IFCA).

The group chose Jane Campion as best director for “The Power of the Dog”. Lady Gaga won Best Actress for her work in ‘House of Gucci’ and Andrew Garfield won Best Actor for ‘Tick Tick…Boom’.

The IFCA was formed in 2003, and its members include film critics for various Iowa print and broadcast media. Linda Cook of WHBF/ is a long-time member.

Here are the IFCA winners for 2021:


“Belfast” – Finalists: “Dune” and “Power of the Dog”

Animation Film

“Encanto” – Finalists: “Flee” and “Raya and the Last Dragon”


“Summer of Soul” – Finalists: “Flee” and “The Rescue”


Jane Campion, “The Power of the Dog” – Finalists: Kenneth Branagh, “Belfast” and Denis Villeneuve, “Dune”


Andrew Garfield, “Tick Tick…Boom” – Finalists: Benedict Cumberbatch, “The Power of the Dog” and Will Smith, “King Richard”


Lady Gaga, “House of Gucci” – Finalists: Olivia Colman, “The Lost Daughter” and Kristen Stewart, “Spencer”

Supporting actor

Kodi Smit-McPhee, “The Power of the Dog” – Finalists: Jamie Dornan, “Belfast” and Ciaran Hinds, “Belfast”

supporting actress

Caitriona Balfe, “Belfast” – Finalists: Ariana DeBose, “West Side Story” and Kirsten Dunst, “The Power of the Dog”


“Guns Go Bang”, “The Harder They Fall” – Finalists: “Down to Joy”, “Belfast” and “No Time to Die”, “No Time to Die”


Jonny Greenwood, “The Power of the Dog” – Finalists: Alexandre Desplat, “The French Dispatch” and Hans Zimmer, “Dune”


Comments are closed.