The winners of the Into Film Awards 2022 revealed


Educational charity Into Film has announced the winners of its Into Film Awards at a star-studded ceremony at ODEON Luxe Leicester Square, London. Hosted by presenter and comedian Sue Perkins, the event featured celebrity presenters such as Lashana Lynch, Eddie Redmayne, Morfydd Clark, Jack Lowden, Tom Ellis, Joanne Froggatt, Stacey Dooley, Michael Ajao, Anson Boon, Aliyah Odoffin, Celyn Jones, Emma Appleton. , Ben Shires, Sebastian Croft, Sheyi Cole, Thaddea Graham, Marli Siu, Lola Petticrew and Samuel Adewunmi.

From the incredible Into Film Clubs, educators and young critics to a host of outstanding films submitted across six filmmaking categories, the Into Film Awards celebrate the UK’s best in cinema and the use of film in education .

“The Into Film Awards shine a spotlight on young, emerging filmmakers and help young people understand the career opportunities the screen industry could offer them, attracting new talent and tackling technical and craft shortages. criticism that we face in the industry,” commented Barbara. Broccoli, bond producer and director of Into Film

This year’s winners include truly inspiring stories, from a young disabled filmmaker based in Edinburgh who created her entire film using an eye communicator, to a group of Manchester girls who used their film club to celebrate diversity and the empowerment of women. Meanwhile, films made by young people cover a wide range of themes and topics, including the impact of lockdown on mental health, climate change, grief, OCD and anxiety.

The winners of the Into Film Award 2022 are:

Changes for a better world: this new asked young people to think about the environmental crisis, look to the future and imagine the changes they want to see and create.

  • ‘Change Direction’ – Directed by Greta McMillan (18) and Nick from Portobello High School – Edinburgh, Scotland

Best animation – 11 and under:

  • ‘The Lonely Polar Bear’ – Directed by young filmmaker Alex with Screen Education Edinburgh – Edinburgh, Scotland

Best animation – 12 years and over:

  • ‘Mia’ – Directed by young filmmaker Zoe (16) – Aberdeen, Scotland

Best Film – Ages 11 and Under:

  • ‘The Year the World Changed’ – Directed by Lucia, Olivia, Yvie, Olivier, Maisie, Sophie and Bella from Bessacarr Primary School – Doncaster, England

Best Film – 12-15:

  • ‘Food Fight’ – Performed by a group of 24 students from the Pauline Quirk Academy – Essex, England

Best Film – 16-19:

  • ‘Lead to Fromspair’ – Directed by young filmmaker Freya (17) – Coventry, England

Ones to Watch – in partnership with BFI Film Academy.

Three phenomenal young people who have already achieved an incredible amount in the film world have been nominated because we believe they all have the potential to do greater things in the industry. Each nominee will receive industry mentorship and the overall winner an additional £1,000 prize.

  • Eden Quine-Taylor (18) – Crickhowell, Wales

In the film club of the year:

  • EGLAM (Eden Girls Leadership Academy) – Manchester, England

Teacher of the year:

  • Jemma Evans – Penybont Primary SchoolBridgend, Wales

Summary of the year :

  • Ella (15) – Chichester, England

The Into Film Awards are organized by the educational charity, Into Film, made possible by the support of the film industry through sponsorships and supported by the BFI through funding from the National Lottery, through players National Lottery, and to the UK film industry through Cinema First. The National Lottery raises £36million every week for good causes across the UK.


Comments are closed.